Plan B…

One should always have a Plan B (and C, and D, and E… there are lots more letters in the alphabet!) for when Plan A doesn’t work out. Back in the spring of this year we decided that Plan A for 2018 would be to enter the London Marathon ballot, knowing full well that it was highly unlikely either of us would get in, let alone both (both of us have been fortunate enough to run it in the past, but we still want to go again!). At that point there was no Plan B as it was so far away and we knew we had an autumn marathon to run (I entered the London ballot the same day I submitted my entry for the Loch Ness marathon!).

Cut to the closing miles of the Loch Ness marathon when I was deep in the hurt locker and swearing off marathons for good. You know how it goes – this is stupid; whose great idea was this anyway; I’m never doing this again; 10 is a good number of marathons to stop at; I hate running, etc. So you would think that when this arrived today I would’ve been relieved. Not so.

fullsizeoutput_216c
You see within a few days of completing that marathon my mind was already turning to the future: what if I tweaked my training a little more? What if I tried a race a little closer to home? Could I go faster? By the end of the week I had already decided on my Plan B – The Stirling Marathon.

And so, within hours of receiving my 6th (yup, 6th – I know some people have even more than that) rejection from London, and less than 10 days after completing my last marathon, I put Plan B into action:

fullsizeoutput_216d
Why Stirling? A couple of reasons:

  1. They’ve tweaked the course from the inaugural event this year so there is no need for shuttle buses or the bizarre loop system they had at the finish (no way would I remember which loop I was on at that point!).
  2. Stirling is less than 40 miles from where we live, so we can reap the benefits of having our usual pre-long run meal, sleeping in our own bed the night before, eating our usual breakfast at home and, most importantly, getting home again quickly to start the recovery process.

Basically, having tried running a hillier marathon, I now want to try running one practically on my doorstep. It’s high time I added a bit of variety to my marathon list (50% of my 10 marathons have been in Paris!) and I’m looking forward to trying something new. It might even be an option for us to check out the course in advance so we are a bit more familiar with what to expect.

So that’s Plan B. Now there’s just the small matter of making sure I recover well from Loch Ness before enjoying a bit of pressure-free running to build a strong base ahead of ramping up training in the new year. I imagine race day will be here before I know it!

If you’re still considering your Plan B, this post from last year includes a few suggestions for when London says ‘no’.

Have you ever run the London marathon?
What’s your next big goal event?

9 thoughts on “Plan B…

  1. I’m in the same boat here. Got my rejection letter from London yesterday and within minutes I had booked up to run Paris instead. Not run that one either so just as excited as I would be for London, with the added benefit of turning it into a weekend break!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I am the only person who is a runner but has never applied to London! I don’t like the whole ballot thing- I’d rather book on and know I was doing one well in advance, and although I love seeing it on TV the huge crowds put me off- I did the GNR and that was too busy really and although it was good to do once, it really showed me that I prefer smaller events. Doing one closer to home sounds good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get what you mean. For me, I like the idea of having that experience. I’ve never done GNR but would like to, with the knowledge that it would be for the experience rather than aiming for a time.
      When it comes to London, I usually enter the ballot but have another race in mind for when I receive the inevitable “no”!
      I like big events, but doing something smaller at Loch Ness was lovely too.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Week In Review – Bon Voyage! | The Running Princess

  4. Pingback: 7 For 2017 – Nearly There! | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

