Week In Review – Eat, Sleep, Repeat

I consider the rest and recovery from a marathon to be just as important as the training prior to the race, and this week was ALL about recovery! Join me as I link up with Jessie @ The Right Fits and Jess @ Jess Runs ATL to share the details.

This week, my plan had very little variation:

Monday – rest
Tuesday – sports massage
Wednesday – rest
Thursday – Ashtanga yoga
Friday – rest
Saturday – parkrun volunteer
Sunday – rest

Spot the pattern lol!

The only word I have to describe Monday is “interesting”. I was sore, I was tired and I was hungry. I also had to go to work, but since everything that was going to make my day veeeeery long was my own fault, I just had to suck it up and get on with it! I consider it a win that I reached the end of the day without any irrational behaviour or tears (from me or my pupils!) and stayed reasonably alert through our after school meeting. I had a free lesson in the afternoon and was well and truly caught having a second lunch (to add to the assorted other things I had been clocked eating throughout the day!) to try and address the calorie deficit the marathon had given me. It was a pretty sedentary day though, and while the rest was good, sitting still for too long also leads to the body seizing up like the Tin Man in The Wizard of Oz, so I knew I would have to move a bit more at the end of the day. Once home, I headed out for a walk which served the dual purpose of getting me moving and ensuring I reached my 10,000 steps for the day. Not so pleasing was the fact that it was getting rather dark by the time I got home and it wasn’t even that late. Winter is coming!

IMG_3961
IMG_3964
I felt a bit better on Tuesday, but realistically I knew I was going t feel tired all week until I could get a proper rest at the weekend. During the week after a marathon I limit myself to nothing more strenuous than a walk or some yoga, and try to rest as much as I can. I also make sure to schedule a massage to promote recovery in my legs and had this booked for Tuesday. In order to kill two birds with one stone, I walked down to my massage then Steve picked me up so we could go and sort out some food (we didn’t exactly find time for a proper food shop for the week!). Rather than wander around the supermarket feeling uninspired, I suggested a Chinese takeaway – after all, I didn’t run 26.2 miles to celebrate with a salad! Our nearest takeaway is run by someone Steve was at school with and he is known for his unique take on some dishes, including some fusing Scottish and Chinese ingredients. I had one of these dishes which is noodles with chicken and Stornaway black pudding (I request some broccoli in mine as well). I know not everyone fancies the idea of black pudding, but it really is delicious.

IMG_3968
IMG_3969
After surviving another work day on Wednesday, I headed home to take another walk. I was feeling the difference in my legs from having the massage and to help even further I decided to have a bath with Epsom salts. Steve was working fairly late so it was nice to relax in the warm water and catch up on the first episode of this year’s Strictly Come Dancing, my favourite TV show, which I had missed while we were in Inverness. The bath also made a big difference to my legs and I really wished I could have fitted it in a bit earlier in the week.

Thanks to the bath my legs really did feel much more like my own on Thursday, although I really couldn’t believe it was still only Thursday and became increasingly convinced that someone had sneaked an extra day into the week. I think it was called “Maraday”. Thursday is my Ashtanga yoga day and although I didn’t feel at my most flexible, I knew this was really going to help reset my body so went along. I took it easy through the first couple of sun salutations until I felt things loosen up a bit, and took easier options on the balance poses since my legs felt weary, but by the end of the class I felt renewed (another win = I managed not to fall asleep in savasana!)

When Friday rolled around at long last the only thing I was still feeling was tired. Friday is a short day in our timetable structure and I have some peaceful, chilled out reading periods in the afternoon which help to ease us all into the weekend. I had an appointment in town when I got back so parked a little out of town and walked there and back to get a bit of movement (and steps!). This also gave me the chance to sort out a couple of quick errands to save some time over the weekend. By the time I got home I was STARVING so was really happy to find that when we headed out to eat it was time for my favourite special of the month – steak. And since we were celebrating the completion of another marathon, we opted to have dessert this time. I didn’t need asking twice. Nor did I need to look at the menu as when I know a place has my favourite dessert on the menu there are no other options: sticky toffee pudding.

IMG_3971
I was awoken early on Saturday by the cat who, in direct contrast to last Saturday when she was ill enough to warrant an emergency visit to the vet, was in fine form and wished to alert me to the fact that she required some breakfast. I tried going back to bed (with her in tow now that her food needs had been met) but ended up just catching up with messages on my phone as I couldn’t get back to sleep. In a way this suited me as I was down to volunteer as timekeeper at parkrun and was considering walking down for a bit of exercise, so this gave me plenty of time.

IMG_3973

Steve up to his usual tricks!

IMG_3972
It was the 200th event for our parkrun and there was a huge turnout of 300 people on a beautiful Saturday morning. Post-parkrun I headed off to do a bit of shopping for my imminent school trip to France (with the marathon done I felt a bit more able to turn my attention to this) then met Steve, my brother-in-law and his wife for coffee and a bacon croissant before we got some proper food shopping done. I then enjoyed a really relaxing afternoon catching up on some TV and blogging, which really made me feel like I had got my rest back on an even keel. I even FINALLY got round to tidying away all the kit and things that I hadn’t sorted out (with a little help from a now fully recovered cat!).

IMG_3980
Sunday is usually long run day, but not the Sunday after a marathon. Instead, we took advantage of what has become a rare Sunday “off” for our now-traditional post-marathon breakfast out. We headed into town for a delicious cooked breakfast then Steve dropped me off to get my nails done (I couldn’t go to France with my 3 week old manicure which was beginning to chip and peel!).

fullsizeoutput_216a
IMG_4007
Later in the afternoon we walked back into town for our Sunday coffee and enjoyed the last of what had become a relaxed and restful weekend. Exactly what we needed. I, of course, finished the weekend with my Sunday evening bath where I always enjoy a bit of reading and a glass of wine. Lovely!

IMG_1870
Now I have just one week of the school term to go before heading off to France with 40 teenagers. All of a sudden it feels like that has come around quickly, but I think with everything so focused on the marathon I just hadn’t thought about what was to come afterwards. At least I didn’t have to go with my post-marathon funny walk lol!

How has your week been?
Any trips or races coming up?

6 thoughts on “Week In Review – Eat, Sleep, Repeat

  1. I love how your fully embraced the marathon recovery, doing all the wonderful things to treat yourself- food, massage, walks, baths, wine, etc! Well done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The recovery sounds spot on! Last time I did one I remember being surprised at just how tired I was for ages after- I think I attempted a run on Wednesday to try and shake out the legs a bit, but really I should have stuck to walking.
    A school trip abroad sounds very stressful! I find a day trip bad enough (and go to sleeping counting). Although maybe with older kids they are more sensible?
    I was meant to be going to Croatia in half term but that was with Monarch, so no more. I am off to Brighton for a 10 mile race in a couple of weeks though.

    Like

    • Sorry to hear about your Croatia trip. Brighton sounds nice, though.
      Trips with older kids are a little less stressful, and they can generally be trusted to a little more independence, but it’s still pretty tiring as there’s so much going on (and a lot of counting!)

      Like

  3. Congrats on the marathon! Something I have yet to accomplish myself. And for resting – sometimes that takes more discipline than training. That sticky toffee pudding looks amazing and now I am hungry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

