Week In Review – Getting Back On It

Another week already? This week has been all about getting back into the groove of my training in preparation for the Loch Ness marathon at the end of September. Linking up with Jessie @ The Right Fits and Jess @ Jess Runs ATL to share all the details.

At the end of term I cut back my training a little as I was so exhausted and kept things fairly minimal while I was away in Florida. Now that I’m home, I need to re-establish my routine and get down to some hard work so I’m ready for the marathon. Here’s how my week looked:

Monday – swim
Tuesday – bike reps @ the gym
Wednesday – hill reps + Hatha yoga
Thursday – Ashtanga yoga
Friday – PT session
Saturday – parkrun
Sunday – 8 miles

The pool at my parent’s place in Florida is quite small and I can swim from one end to the other in one breath, so arriving at the gym on Monday the first thing that struck me was how big the pool seemed in comparison! Unsurprisingly I felt a little rusty at first, but I soon felt my rhythm returning and was able to swim reasonably well. Unfortunately the lane was a little busy so I did have to wait at the ends quite often to allow the swimmer ahead to move up the pool a bit before I could go. I do feel like the controlled breathing has helped my running and swimming in general is giving me a good workout without any impact.

Since Monday was a sunny, warm (for Scotland) day, I headed into the garden with a book for a while in the afternoon, before going to get my nail polish changed. I loved the sparkly gel polish I had on for my holiday, so decided to get a different colour of sparkly polish since technically I am still on holiday, even though I’m at home πŸ™‚

IMG_3234
IMG_3238
On Tuesday morning I had a sports massage booked. I may not have been running high mileage, but I still like to have the “maintenance” of a monthly massage to keep my legs ticking over nicely and deal with any tight spots before they have the chance to become an issue. This meant leaving my workout until later in the day, and I arrived at the gym at around the same time I would if I was working. Tuesdays are always bike reps, and Steve had told me to stick to the same intensity and work/rest intervals as I was doing before the holidays (I peaked at 20 reps in the last week of term). The plan was to asses where I was fitness-wise for these right now so Steve could decide how to progress the workout. He told me to aim for 10 reps, but if I found it hard to drop the intensity on the bike. If, however, I found it ok I should do 12 reps. Not going to lie, I expected it to be tough, but 10 reps felt just a little too achievable so I went for 12. It was getting tougher in the last 2, but I still knew I could have gone on if the session had called for it. I must be a bit fitter than I realised!

The remainder of Tuesday was nice and chilled, getting kitty snuggles and reading my book. Bliss!

IMG_3242
I awoke on Wednesday to the predicted miserable weather, and while I don’t object to running in the rain, I did think it would be much nicer to run my hill reps in the sunshine, so trusting the forecast that the afternoon would be better, I decided to wait until later in the day. And I’m so glad I did! By the time I headed out the sun was splitting the sky and there was a bit of warmth in the the sun – something I’m a bit more used to right now after running in Florida! I headed back to my usual hill and did a session of reps to the last 3 lampposts – 3 reps, 2 reps then 1 to the furthest away. It felt tough and my breathing was pretty ragged at the top of the hill, but comparing my reps to what I was doing back in June (the last time I did any hill reps) was pretty favourable. A reader recently got in touch to ask me to include a bit more about hill reps in one of my weekly recaps, but I think I’m going to write a separate post on this. In the meantime, hill reps serve several purposes for me – speed work, improved strength and better technique as the incline forces me to drive my knees forward and use my arms more. Tough, but worth it!

IMG_3246
I finished the day with a Hatha yoga class. My usual Saturday morning class isn’t on during the school holidays, but my teacher has recently begun another class in the clubhouse of the golf club that’s practically on my doorstep. I was really keen to get to a class so thought I would head up there. It was so nice to be led through a class and give my body a good stretch. I think I slept really well after it too!

Thursday was pretty chilled. I ran some errands during the day then in the evening I had my Ashtanga yoga class. I’ve really missed this while I was away and the class was cancelled last week (the day I got back home) so I’ve missed 3 weeks of class. Steve had a rare Thursday evening free as his running clubs hadn’t re-started yet so he decided to join me, but had to meet me there as he was teaching a class right before. It felt so good to be back in class again, even if I was a teensy bit rusty, and I could feel the flexibility returning to my body with every posture. Steve enjoyed it too. Making it to a class regularly just isn’t an option for him right now, but he does do a lot of mobility work and similar postures as part of his day-to-day routine.

To be honest, Friday started out pretty chilled too (rest is my summer holiday priority!). The cat joined me on the bed and I spent some time cuddled in with her and reading a bit of my book. But even I can’t spend all day lazing about so I got my act together, tackled a job on my to-do list then headed down to the studio with Steve for a workout. We were mainly focusing on upper back mobility, hip mobility/knee drive and, for a bonus, several of the exercises also targeted core strength. We used both weights of Core Momentum Trainer, the Vipr and the good old broom handle. I definitely knew about this one the next day!

IMG_3261
Trying to take a post-workout selfie Steve kept messing about and trying to put me off, resulting in this gem of a photo series (he’d done it so many times already that I managed not to react this time, but his face tells a story – you can practically see the cogs turning as he comes up with his latest mischief lol!).

IMG_3341
Saturday, as ever, was parkrun day. I was still pretty jet lagged last Saturday but still managed to run 24 minutes flat so thought I should be able to take my time below 24 minutes again now I’m better rested. When we set off it looked like it might rain so I left my sunglasses at home, but just a few minutes later when we arrived at the start the sun was coming out. Typical! What followed was a part dull, part rainy, part sunny, part windy parkrun. They do say you can get all 4 seasons in one day in Scotland!

I set out quite hard, probably too hard as the first mile ticked by in 7:30 (and that was me slowing down a bit after the start!). I knew there was no way I was in shape to hold that pace, but pushed on as fast as I could. The second half of the run was into the headwind, so that combined with the fast start meant each mile was getting slower, but I rallied at the end for a fast finish and crossed the like in 23:51. Not quite my fastest this year, but my fastest since May, so I’m pleased with that.

IMG_3282
After parkrun we had breakfast with Steve’s brother and his wife before they set off on holiday on Wednesday. We then chilled out for the afternoon before heading back into town for the annual highlight that is Soul Food at the Southern Fried festival (I wrote a little bit about last year’s festival in this post). The food was delicious as usual, especially the Coca Cola cake. Amazing!

717A6C53-AEB4-4B4D-B804-9D21497B78C2
We walked there so we could both enjoy a beer, then decided to round off our evening with a wee gin and tonic on the way home. I do love summer holidays!

IMG_3350
Sunday means a longer run and this time around I’m wanting to try something different with my long runs. I built endurance in the early part of the year through running slowly on long run days, then before the summer break I capitalised on this by dropping the mileage back to around 10 miles and running a bit faster. Now, I’m thinking a bit more about pace and running every third mile faster (with the other miles fairly easy). Steve has used this before quite successfully, but it did mean a re-think of my planned route as I was going to hit a fast mile on a long, steep hill. Not useful! In the end I reversed the route and it worked pretty well.

IMG_3370
We then took a trip through to Glasgow as I wanted to make a purchase and whilst there we treated ourselves to an amazing frappΓ© at Hotel Chocolat. Mine was salted caramel brownie. Yum!
IMG_3374

We also came across this little gem. I don’t think it would work for a cat, but I bet at least one person reading this now wants one lol!
IMG_3375

It felt good to be getting back to some consistent training again this week. Now to keep making progress so I can smash it at Loch Ness!

How has your training been this week?
What’s your summer goal?

7 thoughts on “Week In Review – Getting Back On It

    • Yes. Much harder coming home: “west is best, east is a beast”! Moving forward 5 hours + not the best sleep on the overnight flight = more jet lag.

      I had a funny feeling you might like the pet selfie stick πŸ˜‚

      Like

  1. Pingback: Week In Review – It’s All In The Hips | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

