Week In Review – Squeezing Out Every Last Drop!

What a strange week! I’ve gone from living it up in Florida to a wee Scottish drowned rat in the blink of an eye! I still have plenty of photos to share from the last days of our trip as I link up with Jessie @ The Right Fits and Jess @ Jess Runs ATL as usual.

Since much of the week was still either part of our holiday or dominated by the demands of travelling home, my schedule was a little different again. I don’t generally plan so much when we’re away, but there’s always room for a morning workout somewhere along the line!

Monday – Magic Kingdom
Tuesday – 5k
Wednesday – workout @ park then flight home
Thursday – walk
Friday – rest
Saturday – parkrun
Sunday – 10k

We definitely got the week off to a great start with a visit to the Magic Kingdom. My dad has decided that everyone’s birthday now takes place in July (the only one of us actually born in July is my mum!) and we are all now being presented with a Disney gift card when we’re in Florida. It’s totally up to us how we use the card but Steve and I like to have an experience rather than buy something, so we decided to have a day at MK since it’s been a couple of years since we visited there. My sister came too and decided we should be there for rope drop so we could get on plenty of rides before it got too busy. I’d actually never been in as early as that before but it worked out well as Steve and I scored a ride on the first Seven Dwarves Mine Train of the day (there were no Fastpasses left by the time we had our tickets to plan the day and the line for this one is always ENORMOUS!!).

IMG_2969
IMG_2973Much like our day at Epcot last week, we had a great time revisiting old favourites like Big Thunder Mountain, Space Mountain and The Haunted Mansion whilst keeping the Photopass photographers occupied (my sister has an annual pass so gets the photos included). And yes, I did do some novelty shots of my own by the castle!

IMG_3116
IMG_3131
IMG_2987
IMG_3019There was some pretty heavy rain later in the day but it cleared up in time for the fireworks. I’m so glad we stayed because the new show is incredible – a combination of fireworks and projections onto the castle itself. Awesome!

IMG_3068
IMG_3099In the end we were in the park for the FULL DAY. Yup, all the way from “all are welcome in this magical place” to “we thank you for joining us today“! Needless to say, we were pretty tired so Tuesday was a bit more relaxing. We still got up and joined dad for our last “running club” 5k of the trip, safe in the knowledge that we could snooze in the sun later on, and this time he chose a different route a bit more like the one Steve and I had done ourselves the previous week. Knowing there was a Strava segment I wanted to improve on, I set off at a pretty steady pace then ramped it up for the section where I hit the segment. Once I knew I had completed it I actually stopped for a moment to catch my breath and get a decent drink before carrying on. It was worth it though as I ran the segment 30 seconds faster than the last time and set a new PR there. Also notable from this run, the 4 cranes which flew in formation across the road in front of me (Steve was quite far ahead by this point and dad didn’t see me pointing at them so you’ll just have to take my word for it!).

IMG_3102After enjoying the last of the sunshine we got showered and changed to take mum and dad out for dinner. We always do this on our last night as a thank you for looking after putting up with us for two weeks. Mum loves snow crab legs so we went to Red Lobster. We all had lobster bisque to start then I opted for a New York strip steak (a cut we don’t tend to see in the UK) which was delicious.

IMG_3133Steve and I decided to get up on Wednesday for one last workout in the morning sun. We were conscious that we would be travelling for quite a long time and cramped up in a plane so wanted a bit of movement before that happened. We ran down to the park and worked through a circuit of exercises including the two exercises we did last week and adding on some curl ups on the monkey bars (we had to do these in fives as our hands kept slipping off the wet bars!). We did 3 rounds of the circuit – 10 reps, 15 reps and 20 reps. We then ran home by a longer route than last time and promptly got in the pool to cool off!

IMG_3135
IMG_3171Mum was conscious that we would likely be eating at funny times for the next few hours so made us scrambled eggs on toast for breakfast.

IMG_8526Then there was nothing for it but to get showered, dressed and finalise our packing ready to leave 😦

Once checked in we had a ginormous slice of pizza to keep us going then made our way through security to the gate. Sadly there was a bit of a delay on our flight up to Newark Liberty which meant we had very little time to connect to our transatlantic flight. Fortunately the gates were close together so we were able to grab a really quick snack (a ridiculously overpriced sandwich for me) before boarding.

IMG_3186Unfortunately there was another delay due to a problem with the baggage scales so we sat for an hour before pushing back. I actually slept a bit and only woke up when they brought dinner round. As soon as I’d eaten I promptly fell asleep again (it was probably 11pm by then) but my eyes snapped open when I heard someone say “ice cream”. Actually, I caused Steve a great deal of amusement as I woke up and said, “did I hear ice cream?” Which he understood as me hearing the actual ice cream lol! It turned out to be a lemon sorbet but it was delicious and I went to sleep right after, sleeping right through until they brought breakfast thanks to us having 3 seats between the 2 of us: Steve sat on the aisle so I could lift the armrest, curl up in a ball and lie flat on the other 2 seats. A bit cramped but a much better sleep than bolt upright in my seat!

By some miracle our luggage actually arrived in Edinburgh with us (I had been doubtful thanks to a rather odd woman at the bag drop in Orlando, two flights and assorted delays, including to baggage) and we were back on the road quite soon (with a coffee stop half way to keep us alert). This, of course, was Thursday as we flew overnight and we were home around lunchtime. Knowing it was best to try and keep going rather than nap, we unpacked a bit then headed out to get some essential food shopping to see us through to our normal shop at the weekend. Steve actually went out to teach a class in the early evening and I decided to take a walk to keep moving and stop me falling asleep!

IMG_3188Sleep was a little disrupted on Thursday night (I was awake for a couple of hours at random during the night, but just read my book until I dozed off again). I had my alarm set for the all-important job of going to collect the cat from the cattery. With her health conditions and long list of meds I was a bit apprehensive about how she would be but was relieved to find there had been no problems at all and she was clearly very well looked after. She was in fine voice on the way home as she told me all about her holiday and spent a good chunk of time patrolling the house to check everything was how she wanted it. She also wouldn’t let me out of her sight. Anyone would think she missed me!

IMG_3196In a bid to keep moving I decided to walk down to my gym in the afternoon simply to sit in the hot tub and sauna. I knew if I stayed home I would fall asleep and really wanted to get back into the right sleep pattern for the time zone I’m in. The walk did the trick and I was feeling refreshed ready for our usual Friday night meal at our “local” (with a wee draft Bud Light for a  taste of “home”!)

IMG_3198
IMG_3199Although still tired, we got up on Saturday for parkrun as we know a run helps to reset the body clock.  Unlike Clermont last week it was a wet and windy morning to welcome us home but it was so nice to see lots of familiar faces once more. I wasn’t sure how well I would run as despite lots of running (in the heat, which boosts fitness in cooler weather) I was still jet lagged so was rather surprised to finish in exactly 24 minutes. That’s my fastest parkrun since late May and great motivation to try and get sub-24 again soon.

Untitled

What a difference a week makes!

To really reset our usual routine it was back to a longer run on Sunday. My alarm went off at 8am but I felt like I wanted to doze a little longer. When I opened my eyes what felt like 5 minutes later it was 10am – oops! Must have needed that!

I got organised and planned out a 10k route. No pressure on splits or time, just running to feel and getting my body use to running a little longer again (not only was I sticking to shorter distances in Florida, but I cut back in the last two weeks of term when my right leg was niggling a bit so have not run more than 5 miles since mid-June). It was pretty damp again and within the first mile the heavens opened and I got drenched. It then dried up and I finished my run looking like a scarecrow with hair sticking out all over the place, Thanks Scotland! Still, it was nice to be out and settling into the rhythm of a longer run. I was still a bit sleepy and felt sluggish in the middle of my run as I didn’t eat before heading out and was really running at lunchtime, but soon enough my body remembered how to fuel itself and I felt good.

IMG_3230

Summer in Scotland means the rain is warmer 😉

After a weekend of normal routine it seems hard to believe that I began the week festooned in sparkly mouse ears waving to assorted Disney characters in the shows and parades. Life can be rather funny at times. Still, it was a brilliant trip and I can’t wait to do it all again next summer. For now, time to get into training mode and get ready for the Loch Ness Marathon which is now creeping closer!

IMG_3023What’s the strangest week you’ve had recently?
What event are you training for?

2 thoughts on “Week In Review – Squeezing Out Every Last Drop!

  1. It sounds like such a brilliant holiday- a combination of relaxing but also busy days in the parks and elsewhere.
    And well done on the parkrun- such a speedy time!
    I’m not really training for anything at the moment- I have half an eye on a half marathon in the autumn but it depends if I am here or away for that weekend so I am just keeping things ticking over with no pressure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

