Friday Finds – 21st July

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

Happy Friday! I’m back home and a little jet lagged, so this week’s Friday Finds is going to be a random selection of stuff I found while I was away. Here we go…

It’s fairly well established that I’m partial to a running-related stat, so I’m going to begin this week with a post from Women’s Running crunching the numbers in marathons and racing in general. My favourite stat in here is the rise in number of female participants, particularly in the US, which is something I’d love to see happening everywhere.

Next, a story which came to my attention a couple of weeks ago when the Diamond League athletics took place in London. Olympian Tom Bosworth set a new world record for the 1 mile race walk. His time? 5:31:08. Yes, you read that right. Bosworth race walked a mile faster than I could ever conceive running one. Absolutely amazing!

At the other end of the spectrum from top end athletics is the novelty race. You know the sort of thing I mean, they usually take the form of crazy fancy dress, being chased by “zombies” or consuming food/drink mid-run and trying desperately hard to keep it in your stomach. Bridging the gap to some extent is Brian Oliu, whose article for Runner’s World describes how the mental challenge of translating his grandfather’s book about running led him to the physical challenge of taking up running himself. In this particular piece he describes his experience of the Krispy Kreme Challenge and how he found himself particularly talented in this kind of event.

Of course baked goods are probably not the best fuel for your next endurance race, but that itself is an area of competition which has changed over the years so I found this next piece from Outside really interesting. I had previously come across the fact that once upon a time runners fuelled with alcohol (something which I’m sure made for some interesting stories!) but I had no idea how comparatively recently products like energy gels came to the fore. Something to think about next time you rip one open!

And finally, if you enjoy seeing runners poke a little fun at themselves then check out this parody rap video by Arizona-based runners Ruairi Moynihan and Miguel Moreno. Very clever and it made me smile.

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds – 21st July

  1. I find the nutrition stuff very interesting- I tried a few energy gels when training for my first marathon but I felt awful when I had them. I do find it strange when people take gels for 10k’s- I am not the fastest (and maybe some might say I could be faster if I had gels) but I really don’t think there is a need for a gel in a race that short.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A short race shouldn’t need a gel as your body has enough fuel for that. I do use them once I’m running beyond 10 miles, but it can be trial and error to find one that suits. I know plenty of people who fuel with different products or make their own bars/drinks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

