Week In Review – Having a Magical Time

It’s been a full week of holiday fun, but there’s still been some room for running and working out. As ever, I’m linking up with Jessie @ The Right Fits and Jess @ Jess Runs ATL to share my week. I hope you like lots of photos as this week’s post has loads! Of course with being on holiday the pattern was a little different again. Here’s how it broke down:

Monday – 5k
Tuesday – short workout @ park
Wednesday – Epcot
Thursday – 3 miles
Friday – shopping!
Saturday – parkrun
Sunday – Disney Springs

We began the week with our second “club run” (dad calls us a running club when we have our holiday runs together!). It was the same 5k route that we did on our first morning last week, but I was feeling a little sluggish so took it at a steadier, more even pace. UntitledAfter a dip in the pool to cool off we had breakfast then I got myself spruced up for an excursion. There were a few errands along the way, but our destination was Dsney’s Grand Floridian where Steve and I had reservations for afternoon tea in the Garden View Lounge. We parked at the Transportation & Ticket Center (TTC) to use the resort transportation. Mum and dad were heading to the Magic Kingdom for a couple of hours (they have annual passes) while we went to the GF. Since we had plenty of time we decided to get the ferry over to the MK together, then Steve and I took a resort launch to the GF. Untitled UntitledWe had a bit of a walk around the resort then checked in for our reservations. Not long after we ordered, there was an announcement that Cinderella and Prince Charming were going to come down the grand staircase and our server told us we could head on out to see them. Untitled Untitled UntitledOnce back at our table, our champagne had arrived (along with my rose from Princess Aurora’s rose garden), followed by our first course – fruits and cheeses – and our tea. My chosen blend was Perfect Afternoon. Untitled Untitled UntitledAfter that we were brought sandwiches and the tier with the scones and our chosen desserts – pastries. If you ever get the chance to do this, I definitely recommend it as the food is amazing. Needless to say, we just opted for a snack that evening as we were pretty full of delicious treats! Untitled Untitled Untitled Untitled So as not to “overdo” things, we had a much quieter day planned for Tuesday. Steve and I decided to get up and head out for an early workout – a jog of just under a mile down to the playpark where we used the equipment there to create a workout. UntitledWe started with some core work in press-up position but with one leg raised on the step up to the slide. A bit like a one-legged mountain climber to work on knee drive. Untitled UntitledWe also used our old favourite the seesaw for some balance. It certainly makes squats interesting! Untitled UntitledThen we ran home by a different route which took us around the development rather than back the way we had come. It’s about 1.5 miles and provides a bit of variety. UntitledOnce home I spread my yoga mat by the pool again and happily worked through some of the Ashtanga sequence in the morning stillness before breakfast, then it was a relaxing day reading and snoozing by the pool until it was time for dinner. Chicken salad. UntitledWednesday had us back to the excitement of Disney. Ages ago dad pointed out that it was 25 years ago this month that we had our first family holiday to Florida. 25 years? I surely can’t be that old! At the time, it was billed as a “once in a lifetime” trip, never to be repeated, but I don’t think there’s been a year since that my parents haven’t been in Florida at some point, and of course now they have a home here which makes it much easier for all of us. To mark the occasion, it was decided that we would have a family day at the first ever Disney park we visited – Epcot. Thinking back, it sure has changed in 25 years!  To really go for it, my sister organised reunion-style tops for us all to wear as we walked around the park and we wore those “I’m celebrating” buttons  as well. Obviously this meant we had to get some group photos to remember the day. UntitledHighlights included FINALLY getting on the Frozen-themed ride not just once, but TWICE, enjoying some adult beverages (prosecco in Italy and a frozen margarita in Mexico) and re-visiting old favourites like Test Track (where my hair seemed to have a mind of its own in our ride photo!) and Soarin’. I, of course, couldn’t resist my signature jumping shot with Spaceship Earth as the backdrop, as well as a couple of yoga poses. Anything goes in Disney, right? UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitledThursday was a little more sedate after such a long day. Steve and I got up for a run, but dad needed a lie-in so our running club was down a member. We created our own route – an out and back along a route where we knew there was a Strava segment! – which totalled 3 miles. I had woken up with some tightness in my upper back and although it was ok running, 3 miles was enough for me at that point. UntitledWe spent the rest of our day relaxing by the pool, reading and snoozing on a sun lounger before a dinner of my mum’s slow cooker mince. Lovely! Untitled

Friday started a little sharper as mum and dad had appointments with their hairdresser so Steve and I were dropped off at the nearby outlet mall for some shopping. We probably went round all the shops about 3 times (with refreshment breaks along the way!) and came away with a few bargains. Untitled

Since we were out all day, dinner was leftovers from Thursday.

On Saturday we had another early start as we were going for our first ever bit of international parkrun tourism. That’s right, we FINALLY made it to Clermont waterfront parkrun. We even got dad to register for his barcode and join us in the run. It was a great experience and I’ll write a separate post about it as soon as I get time. UntitledPost-parkrun we treated mum and dad to breakfast at IHOP then we had plans with my sister. First we headed off for a little more shopping. There’s a small nearby complex with some shops we’d not so far visited and were keen to go. After that, we were Disney-bound. First, some mini golf at Winter Summerland, a festive/beach-themed place. We played the winter course first then stopped for a quick refreshment before going around the summer course. Despite my beer I was super-consistent and got the same score on both courses. Maybe my golf is improving at last! UntitledUntitledUntitledWe then headed over to the Animal Kingdom Lodge. It’s not a resort I’ve visited before but my sister’s friend spent a couple of nights there last week so she had been over to use the pool and have dinner. I was fascinated by the fact there were animals right outside the hotel windows! UntitledWe also toasted marshmallows over the campfire and had a poke around the gift shop (it is Disney after all!) before our dinner reservations at Boma, an African/Indian inspired buffet.

Untitled

I was hungry, but was conscious of the huge breakfast that morning. I still managed soup, salad, ribs with sides and a selection of the amazing desserts, along with seemingly endless glasses of Jungle Juice. It was brilliant! Untitled UntitledUntitled

I was so tired when I got home that I was pleased to have a chance to sleep a little later on Sunday morning. We did have Disney plans though, and late morning we piled into the car to head to Disney Springs where they were having a “Christmas in July” theme. I never get to see Disney at Christmas so was super excited for this! Untitled

Apart from some shopping, the real highlight was meeting summer Santa – red shorts, Hawaiian shirt and red Converse high tops. It was great!

UntitledUntitled

We also enjoyed a Snowflake Margarita as our afternoon refreshment.

Untitled

And took advantage of some Photopass opportunities.

Untitled

Once the money was spent (you’re welcome America!) it was home for dinner. This time mum had some pork sitting in a marinade all day so it was delicious. Note the sprouts – Christmas in July lol!

Untitled

What a brilliant week! Only a few more days of the trip left, but you can expect another update on our adventures in next week’s post.

Christmas in July: yes or no?
What would be your ideal Disney day?

8 thoughts on “Week In Review – Having a Magical Time

  1. What a fabulous recap! You are really living it up in Florida! I love all the pictures (and I love your romper in that early pic with the birds on it- so cute!)

    The food all looks really delicious as well and I love how you’re still fitting in so much fitness- nice work!

    Thanks for linking up with us even on vacation! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fantastic time! I went to the Grand Floridian for afternoon tea for my birthday a few years ago- it was brilliant but we were so full after.
    I love Epcot- Soarin’ is probably my favourite ride (although I think they have changed it from California now?)- the music, the scenery, the smells…. I also think the fireworks at Epcot are the pinnacle so if I had a hopper ticket I would go to Magic Kingdom for the morning, then Epcot for the afternoon and fireworks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds like an awesome day!
      Yes. Soarin’ has changed but I love the new one which goes around the world. There’s also a new nighttime fireworks and projection show at MK which is incredible – more on that in next week’s review!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Week In Review – Squeezing Out Every Last Drop! | The Running Princess

  4. Pingback: Tough Girl 100 – Challenge Completed! | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

