Friday Finds – 14th July

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

Since I’m on holiday (or vacation for my American friends) I thought this week’s Friday Finds could be devoted to one of my favourite holiday pastimes…running!

If running whilst on a trip is new to you, Women’s Running weighs up the pros and cons of some of the common tips given to travelling runners. I’m lucky that I’m not the only runner in the family so it’s easy to set time aside, but being in a hot, humid climate means I do switch from my usual evening runs or leisurely starts to pretty much rolling out of bed into my trainers to avoid the harsh conditions later on.

If you’d like to take things further and turn your trip into a runcation, then Runner’s World is here with some great tips to help you get the most out of your trip. After several trips involving running or racing, I can definitely recommend the idea.

Inevitably, sometimes we have to travel right after an event, leading to muscles seizing up (I’ve definitely thought longingly of the emergency slide when faced with a set of airline steps!). To help, Triathlete¬†magazine has assembled some tips to help with recovery whilst stuck in a car or plane.

One of the difficulties I face in heading to Florida is the huge difference in temperature and humidity. Running in hot weather can slow you by up to a minute a mile as your body has to work harder to keep you cool. Studies have shown that becoming better acclimatised makes more of a difference than pre-cooling the skin, leading to the suggestion of a hot bath before a hot weather workout. Now that sounds just about crazy enough to work!

And finally, travelling to run or race can lead to some great stories to tell afterwards. A rather disconcerting incident involving a Paris marathon portable toilet and some raisins springs to mind, as does the additional security check I was once treated to thanks to my suspicious looking HRM! If you want more like that, Women’s Running has gathered together a few. Do you have any to add?

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

