Week In Review – We’re All Going on a Summer Holiday!

To be honest, I’m still not 100% sure what day it is – being away from your normal routine will do that to you! – but thought it would be fun to continue my week in review posts while I’m on holiday so I can share what I’m up to. As usual, linking up with Jessie @ The Right Fits and Jess @ Jess Runs ATL.

I didn’t leave for my trip until mid-week, but the preparations for going and a different routine away from home meant this week’s schedule looked a little different:

Monday – swim
Tuesday – rest
Wednesday – flight
Thursday – 5k run
Friday – rest
Saturday – 5k race
Sunday – rest

Monday went pretty much as normal workout-wise.There was no work so I took a walk to the gym for my usual swim and had one or two errands to get ready for going away. Most importantly I had my nails done so they were “holiday ready”!

UntitledTuesday was a bit busier so “rest” really is a bit inaccurate! The day began with a trip to the cattery with The Boss so that she is looked after while I’m away. A bit harder for me this time due to her health conditions, but I know the owner will look after her very well and she’s in the best possible hands away from home. Once she was safely delivered, I did some tidying around the house and got my suitcase packed ready for an early start on Wednesday.

UntitledWe were away around 5am on Wednesday to give us plenty of time to park the car, transfer to the airport, check in and make our way through security. Once in the departure lounge we had plenty of time so got some breakfast and wandered around a bit until it was time for our flight.

UntitledWe were flying first to Newark Liberty, clearing immigration there then connecting to our flight to Orlando where mum and dad were waiting to collect us and take us to the house. It was a pretty long day and mum had one of my favourites – bolognese – ready in the slow cooker so we could eat almost as soon as we got in. After that we pretty much headed to bed and enjoyed being in a horizontal rather than seated position after all the hours of flying!

UntitledOf course we awoke quite early on Thursday but had already organised with dad that we would go for a 5k run around 7:30 am (while the temperature is still comparatively “cool”). What with dad just returning from running after his recent op and Steve still weary from his half Ironman on Sunday, I soon found myself running ahead by myself. It’s hard to maintain a fast pace in the Florida humidity and the hours of travel soon caught up to see me fade in the last mile where Steve, whose legs had apparently woken up, passed me. It was good to get my legs moving again and set me up for the rest of the day.

UntitledThe first day of the holiday is always a run followed by heading out for breakfast. We went to a nearby IHOP for some pancakes which were amazing! After that mum and I always go to the day spa for pedicures while Steve amuses himself with catching up on news etc in Panera next door.

Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

Toes ready for public consumption, we then hit a nearby outlet mall for a bit of shopping until it was time to head home for dinner – leftover bolognese πŸ™‚

Untitled
Untitled

Friday was much more restful. I began the day by spreading my yoga mat out by the pool for some sun salutations, then largely lay by the pool reading, snoozing and soaking up the sun for the rest of the day. I did, however, head out for some walks to make sure I moved a bit and wasn’t completely sedentary! Dinner that night was some delicious chicken with lemon and capers. I do love my mum’s cooking!

Untitled
Untitled
UntitledWe were up early again on Saturday to head over to Clermont for the Cool Summer Mornings 5k, which I already wrote about. Again, the afternoon was spent lazing by the pool and reading until a late afternoon storm forced us in. Dinner was ribs with baked potatoes (I’m going to share a lot of my meals while I’m away, partly so I have a record of them and partly because who doesn’t love a bit of their mum’s cooking?).

Untitled
Untitled
UntitledSunday was another restful day. Steve and I took a walk in the morning before breakfast (pretty much always watermelon, toast and coffee when we’re here) then settled by the pool to read and snooze. This is how I like to reset and recharge after a busy school year, and although we have some plans in the days ahead, beginning with some lazy, restful days really helps. Oh, and dinner was turkey. Mum plans her meals well and cooks a lot from scratch. Yum!

Untitled
UntitledAfter the first few days of my holiday being kind of busy at the end of last week, it’s been great to spend a few days relaxing. I’m ready to do a few more interesting things in the week ahead, which I’ll share (along with some food photos!) in next week’s review.

What’s your favourite thing to do on holiday?
Any book recommendations for my lazy, poolside days?

11 thoughts on “Week In Review – We’re All Going on a Summer Holiday!

    • I’m so busy through the year that I enjoy the hands to jab every some more restful days. Being somewhere familiar means I don’t feel like I “should” be doing lots of things and do tend to have a walk or run most days.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Week In Review – Having a Magical Time | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

