Week In Review – A Bit Of A Battle

Sometimes running is brilliant: you glide along effortlessly and complete every workout with ease. Other times running is tough: your legs feel like lead weights and even an easy run seems difficult. Writing a weekly roundup means I can get a balance of both, sharing the good weeks and the not so good weeks. Most of this year so far has gone well, but as we approach the end of the school year and I find myself both physically and mentally exhausted, the chances are much higher that I’ll have a tough week. I’ve been feeling the creeping tiredness for a couple of weeks now, but to be honest this past week has been a real battle so I need to listen carefully to my body and adjust my training for the next couple of weeks to account for that. Read on to find out more as I link up with Jessie @ The Right Fits and Jess @ Jess Runs ATL to share more.

If you’re a regular reader then you’ll spot the changes in the plan for the last week straight away:

Mondayswim sports massage
Tuesday – bike intervals @ the gym + swim
Wednesdayhill reps easy run
Thursday – Ashtanga yoga
Friday – rest
Saturday – parkrun + Hatha yoga
Sunday8 miles rest

The change on Monday was expected. I had my monthly sports massage booked and knew I could only fit a swim in beforehand if I was away from work sharp. But this week we had an after school meeting so there was no chance! My legs have been feeling a bit weary so I was looking forward to the massage and certainly felt fresher afterwards.

On Tuesday I felt pretty tired. I probably hadn’t slept enough and at this point in the year I really need as much rest as I can get. My bike intervals were a repeat of last week‘s workout and I headed to the gym a little unsure of how I would perform, but ultimately able to complete the set. I then slotted in a quick swim afterwards. No time to relax in the sauna or anything this week as I wanted to get straight home and log into the marking system so I could catch up on some work there, but due to some ongoing problems with the system I had to wait.

Despite needing to sleep, I decided on an early start on Wednesday to finish my exam marking. By the time I got to the end of my working day I felt exhausted and knew that hill reps would be a mistake this week. Instead I opted for an easy run, but even that was a struggle. I was warm, tired and could feel a niggling tightness in my right calf that just wasn’t settling down. Even worse, something happened that I rarely have any bother with: I got heckled. I’m confident enough in my running not to let that bother me, but it still made me angry that some yobs (who were frankly behaving in a dangerous manner weaving around a busy road on their bikes, causing drivers to take action to avoid hitting them) thought it was ok to ride by me and shout abusive comments about my running just to amuse themselves. I know this happens to many runners much more frequently and I’m lucky that most people around here are very supportive of runners and cyclists, but it is NEVER ok to behave in this way. Fuming already, I was tipped over the edge when I got to the bottom of the hill leading to our street and while waiting to cross the road a driver wolf-whistled at me. Seriously? Again, not acceptable. It was a warm day so I was wearing shorts and what I wear is MY decision based on being comfortable, not an invitation for someone to objectify me. These events, combined with the emerging issue in my calf, put me in a bad mood for the rest of the night.

IMG_2218

Trying not to look too angry for my selfie!

Thursday brought me a much-needed moment of calm with my Ashtanga yoga class. I really needed the time to focus on myself and reset both body and mind. My right calf was still tight, but stretching it out in yoga felt good.

I rounded off the work week with a rest day. The cat had a checkup at the vet on Friday and I just didn’t have the energy for any more – apart from anything else I had completely lost my mind and agreed to mark some additional exam papers which were now available to me and I wanted to get a start on them. It felt so good to have the work week finished and enjoy our Friday night meal out!

IMG_2222
On Saturday morning my calf felt OK (Steve had been helping me to work through some mobility exercises to target the source issue) so I decided to give parkrun a go. Everything felt fine in a warmup jog and as the run began my legs wanted to go quite quickly. Sadly, it didn’t last. Within about half a mile I could feel the tightness creeping in again so backed off the pace and kept my mind tuned in to my leg so I could monitor how it felt. Weirdly, the tight spots kept moving around (Steve later explained that this is because I’m feeling tension deep in the leg in my peroneal muscles, but it’s stemming from an imbalance in how my body is moving on that side right now). I was able to finish the run, but my pace just got slower and slower as I was feeling like the plug had been pulled put. Yet despite my feeling that I had run badly, whilst waiting to have my barcode scanned another runner complimented me on what a “lovely runner” I was. It just goes to show that even when everything feels awful, it doesn’t always show in your form!

IMG_2223

I wasn’t in a “jumping shot” kind of mood!

After parkrun I had the final Saturday morning Hatha yoga class until August. I let my teacher know that I had an issue with my right calf, but to be honest the postures we did felt good and helped to ease the tension. Once home I completed my exam marking then went for a nap. For TWO HOURS! That just shows how exhausted I am right now. I only woke up because Steve shouted to say that my dinner was ready! I then enjoyed a relaxing evening catching up with some TV before bed.

During that tough parkrun I made the decision that Sunday should be a rest day. No point in running further given I had problems in a 5k – much better to rest and resolve the issue quickly rather than escalating the problem so I can’t run for ages.

Steve headed out for a brick session for his half ironman training and I tidied up a few things around the house before walking down to the gym for a relaxing sauna to help me chill out. I was already feeling better from having a bit more sleep and even my leg felt improved from the rest.

Later in the afternoon it was a visit to my parents since it was not only Fathers’ Day, but they are about to head out to Florida again. We haven’t visited them in a few weeks since I’ve been marking and even though we’ll be joining them in Florida shortly after they arrive, it was good to catch up on a few things. We sat in the garden since the weather was good and dad even brought out the beers. Check out the koozie he put mine in!

IMG_2233
Looking ahead, I know I need to dial back the training through the remaining two weeks of term so that I can run strongly through the the summer and get my body ready for my Autumn marathon. I’ll let you know next week how it’s all going, although I’m feeling optimistic that the issue in my right calf can be easily and quickly resolved.

What are your summer training plans?
How do you know when it’s time to back off training?

8 thoughts on “Week In Review – A Bit Of A Battle

  1. It sounds like a rest was just what you needed on the Sunday- end of term exhaustion is so tough.
    I have no plans- a few races (5 miles and 10k) but I don’t run well in the heat so I am not aiming for pb’s, just aiming to enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Taking rest days are hard sometimes especially when other parts of life are stressful. I commend you for listening to your body.

    I generally keep my summer race schedule pretty light because it is so hot and humid in Atlanta. My body HATES humidity!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Week In Review – Are We There Yet? | The Running Princess

  4. Pingback: 7 For 2017 – Half Way There! | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

