Tough Girl 100

Ever since I first listened to the Tough Girl Podcast back in 2015, it’s safe to say that it’s become a huge influence in my life. Listening to all the amazing things the women interviewed have achieved inspires me to keep chasing my dreams, and being part of the Tough Girl Tribe (a closed Facebook group for female listeners of the podcast) is incredibly refreshing in how supportive and inclusive it is.

I’ve written before about how much I love the podcast (did I mention that I was interviewed for the Tough Girl Daily Podcast after the Paris marathon? 😉 You can read more about that here) and often encourage others to listen to it. I believe so strongly in what its creator, Sarah Williams, is aiming to achieve that I not only listen each week, but support the show as a patron and have become a member of the Tough Girl Team supporting Sarah behind the scenes with various aspects of social media, especially while she is away taking on her latest challenge: Thru Hiking the Appalachian Trail in 100 Days!

And that is where today’s post comes in…

Sarah’s hike started today (3rd June 2017) and to help involve her listeners more she has encouraged us all to take on our own 100 day challenge. The idea is that we commit to doing something positive every day that will create a habit and add value to our lives. It could be absolutely anything like drinking 2 litres of water every day, getting 10,000 steps every day or reading 10 pages of a book every day. As soon as the challenge was announced I knew I wanted to take part and it wasn’t long before I knew EXACTLY what I wanted to do: yoga.

One of my goals for this year is to commit to more yoga outside of my classes, and so far I’ve not really done much about that. I am going to at least one yoga class every week, but haven’t created the habit of doing yoga at home. This challenge gives me just the push I need to start doing exactly that and make yoga part of my daily routine.

And so, for the next 100 days I am committing to at least 10 minutes of yoga or mobility work every single day. I kicked it all off with a Hatha yoga class this morning and intend to make more use of Jasyoga and other online resources (as well as working on some postures I’d like to progress in) to help me reach that goal. By writing it here I’m making myself even more accountable and will chart my progress in various blog posts. I’m really looking forward to it!

Fancy joining me? It’s not too late to commit to just one thing that you’re going to do each day to improve your life. I’d love to hear what you decide…

13 thoughts on “Tough Girl 100

  1. Sarah sounds like an amazing person. Best of luck and safety on her trip.

    Sounds like a good goal for you as it is one that would benefit you in your running too.

    Like

  2. Woohoo! I want to do yoga for mine as well, although the official start of 100 days was very poorly timed for me! I was on a whirlwind conference trip this weekend and couldn’t begin anything. But starting today, 100 days of yoga!

    And more broadly, thanks for introducing me to the Tough Girl podcast and the Tribe! It’s a really lovely community.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love listening to her podcast- I have never joined the group though as I don’t think I am doing anything exciting!
    I only do one yoga class a week and I would like to do a bit at the weekend but I always forget. Every day seems a bit too much though. Good luck with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh, I need to fit in yoga! I think it seriously helps prevent injury…I don’t know if I can commit to every day, but how about once a week 🙂 Good for you for making a public statement to do so- best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Week In Review – A Less Than Fresh Start | The Running Princess

  6. Pingback: Friday Finds – 16th June | The Running Princess

  7. Pingback: How Yoga Changed My Training For Good | The Running Princess

  8. Pingback: Friday Finds – 23rd June | The Running Princess

  9. Pingback: 7 For 2017 – Half Way There! | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

