I Love Paris When it Sizzles

IMG_1331

Who needs an excuse to go to Paris? I certainly don’t, but a marathon is definitely a very good reason to make the trip! Long-time readers will already know that I’m a big fan of la plus belle ville du monde and, like the 1964 film starring Audrey Hepburn, the titles of my posts this week have been inspired by the words of Cole Porter:

“Every time I look down on this timeless town
Whether blue or gray be her skies.
Whether loud be her cheers or soft be her tears,
More and more do I realize:

I love Paris in the springtime.
I love Paris in the fall.
I love Paris in the winter when it drizzles,
I love Paris in the summer when it sizzles.”

Last weekend most definitely sizzled, providing less than ideal conditions for a marathon (you can read about that experience here) but ideal conditions to enjoy a weekend break. While we didn’t want to tire ourselves out walking miles and miles around the city (so easily done!) when we had a marathon to run, that doesn’t mean we didn’t take advantage of our time in Paris to enjoy some of the other things the city has to offer, so like last year I thought I’d share one or two of the non-running highlights (aka The One Where I Bore You With My Holiday Photos 😉 )

Cuisine
France, of course, is synonymous with fine dining, however some of the more traditional french fare probably wouldn’t sit very well on race day (anyone for steak tartare?!?) so we tended to structure our eating around what we knew would work for us. Our hotel had a great breakfast buffet, but I for one stuck to yoghurt, toast and pastries until after the marathon, then indulged in some sausages and pancakes the day after (but I was so hungry I forgot to photograph it!)

IMG_1203
IMG_1204

For lunch the day before the marathon we had a slice of pizza, followed by reliving the joy we discovered last year: the Nutellino. Basically this is Nutella, a shot of coffee and some frothy milk, finished off with an extra teaspoon of Nutella sitting on top. Delicious!

IMG_1349

Dinner that night was onion soup (my favourite) and tagliatelle bolognese in a lovely Italian place we found last year. It’s on the Champs Élysées which can be pricey, but this one is reasonable and always really busy. Proximity to our hotel is another big draw!

IMG_1370
IMG_1371

Post-marathon, anything goes! We had our free pint at Frog XVI (they have their own microbrewery and I chose Baba Boom!) and ordered one of their burgers. This one was barbecue, and to be honest I have no idea what it tastes like as I didn’t exactly savour every mouthful (and yes, I did cut the burger and take a bite before I remembered to take a photo -> runger!)

IMG_1400
IMG_1398
IMG_1399We rounded off the trip with one last al fresco coffee on the Champs Élysées on Monday morning before heading to the airport (which I followed with an onion soup chaser. What can I say? I was hungry!).

IMG_1428
IMG_1430Shopping
Well it would be rude not to! We paid a visit to one or two shops in the Carrousel du Louvre, including one of my favourites, Pylones. In the window they had a poster that seemed to be of me living my Paris dream life – I even had a wee cat! I bought myself a replacement for the mug I broke at the end of term with the same design on it which should cheer me up as the new term begins!

IMG_1350
IMG_1360

History
Right across from our hotel we spotted these high walls which were clearly much older than the other architecture in the area. Intrigued, I checked my map to find these walls marked the Reservoir de Passy. Further searching online revealed some very interesting information about this reservoir. Built between 1858-66, it’s fed by the Seine and is not drinking water, but it does feed the fountains and parks of the city. Unusually, the reservoir itself sits five storeys above ground (it’s described as being like a series of swimming pools) and is open to the elements. There is a network of tunnels below the reservoir which were used as torture chambers by the French Gestapo during the Occupation.

IMG_1362By way of further intrigue, we also learned that the headquarters of the French Gestapo were nearby, on the very same street as our hotel, so we couldn’t resist a little walk to go and check it out.

IMG_1364
IMG_1363Maybe it puts a firm stamp on our vintage, but all Steve and I could think about was popular ’80s sitcom ‘Allo ‘Allo and couldn’t help wondering if we were on the brink of locating the painting of The Fallen Madonna!

Sightseeing
You can’t go to a city and not take in the sights. To be honest, most of ours was covered by the Breakfast Run and Marathon, but we still managed to fit in a bit of larking about for the camera!

IMG_1423

That blue line on the road marks where the marathon started. Apart from that there’s no sign that a race took place there just 24hrs before!

IMG_1325

I don’t know what all the fuss is about. The Eiffel Tower is quite small 😉

IMG_1426

Having my selfies infiltrated again!

I’ll leave you with the words of T.S. Eliot, who captures my feelings about Paris beautifully. The marathon may have proved tougher than expected this time, but we still had a fantastic weekend.

“Yet with these April sunsets, that somehow recall

My buried life, and Paris in the spring,

I feel immeasurably at peace, and find the world

To be wonderful and youthful after all”

From Collected Poems 1909-1962

IMG_1415

Where is your favourite place in the world and why?
How would you spend a weekend in Paris?

3 thoughts on “I Love Paris When it Sizzles

  1. Pingback: Week in Review – The Importance of Recovery | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

