Week in Review – Race Week

And just like that, it was race week! Looking back, it hardly seems like any time at all since I began the year with the New Year Triple, but in reality there are many miles between the 1st of January and the first week of April. Today I’m linking up with Jessie @ The Right Fits and Jess @ Jess Runs ATL to share my preparations for race day.

Since it was the second week of my two week taper, things were a little gentler this week, while still maintaining the rhythm of my training. I also had the benefit of being off school for our spring break, so that meant more opportunity to relax at home and feel better rested for the big day. Here’s how my week looked:

Mondayswimย rest plus sports massage
Tuesday – bike intervals at the gym then swim
Wednesday – 4 miles easy
Thursday – PT session plus Ashtanga yoga
Friday – travel to Paris
Saturday – Breakfast Run
Sunday – marathon!!

As you can see, I made a little tweak at the start of the week by removing my Monday swim. I’ve written a couple of times about my elderly cat (she’s 16 and a half!) who now has an age-related health condition. This can be managed, but she can be prone to infections and other side effects of her condition and she had been unwell over the weekend, indicating a need for a change to her medication. I hadn’t slept well due to listening out for her through the night (I suspect it was a bit like having a sick child!) and had an appointment for her at the vet on Monday afternoon so I decided to stay at home and keep an eye on her instead of going to the pool. The good news is that her new medication has her bouncing back and much more herself again, which has been quite a relief for me. To get a bit of movement in my day I simply walked to my sports massage then shifted my swim to Tuesday.

IMG_1093That swim came after my bike workout. I made this my final hard workout of this training cycle and completed 20 reps of my intervals – the peak number at every stage. It felt a bit different doing them in the morning, but I felt strong and this gave me some confidence in my fitness which was consolidated by a decent swim afterwards. I then enjoyed a short time in the hot tub and sauna before heading home for a restful afternoon. My post-bike selfie also provided some entertainment for people on social media. Clearly I worked hard lol!

IMG_1094On Wednesday my traditional hill reps were replaced by an easy run to keep my legs turning over. Steve suggested about 4 miles and I set off on a loop I quite like, guessing a bit at the distance. It turned out to be 4.75 miles. Oops! Still, it was a nice start to the day and in the afternoon my parents, fresh back from a winter in Florida, visited for a cup of tea and a discussion of the cat’s medical needs since they would be taking care of her over the weekend.

IMG_1096Thursday was a beautiful day. The kind of day that makes you want to go for a run, but by this point my running legs were being rested ahead of the marathon, so after I had done all the things I needed to do to get organised for the weekend (by which I mean making lots of lists. I do love a list!), I decided to take a walk in the sunshine and enjoy poking about some of the nearby paths that I run along while I could take advantage of a more leisurely pace. I’d have loved to stay out longer but had packing to do!

IMG_1149
IMG_1150
IMG_1151In the early evening I then headed to the studio for my usual PT session with Steve for some final work on my upper back mobility. Yet again, he couldn’t resist diving into my selfies!

IMG_1159After that, Ashtanga yoga. I REALLY enjoyed the class this week. I felt centred and like I flowed well between postures and in some I felt like my flexibility had improved a little more. I suspect things will feel a bit different next time in my post-marathon body! If I can get anywhere near my toes it will be a miracle lol!

Friday is usually my rest day, but this time it was my travel day. I got up early to make sure I had time to not only get myself ready, but to make sure I had given my furbaby all her assorted medications before leaving so that it would be a little easier for mum later in the day. I had packed everything for my trip the night before, so it was just a case of popping in the last minute items then we were off to the airport. We had expected to bump into Simon, who we had first met under similar circumstances last year, but before that we also bumped into Steve’s friend Fiona who now lives in Paris but had been back in Scotland for a few days and was heading back home to run the marathon as well. The departure gate at the airport is starting to feel like an annual reunion of the Paris marathon runners ha! We chatted a bit while waiting to board which helped to pass the time. Once on board, we discovered that there was an ITV film crew involved in making a documentary about becoming a pilot on board the flight. They were mainly filming in the cockpit but were also getting some shots around the cabin. I’ll now have to watch out for this coming on TV just in case I can spot myself!
IMG_1167The remainder of the weekend will be covered in more detail in separate posts, however I’ll include some highlights here:
Our first port of call in Paris was the Expo to collect our race packs. We ate there at the pasta party, had a look around the exhibits then headed for the hotel to unpack and get some rest (after a quick walk to pick up some bottles of water, during which I “returned the favour” with Steve’s selfie!).

IMG_1168
IMG_1171
IMG_7550Saturday we were up bright and early for coffee and croissants before heading over to the Place du Palais Royal for the start of the Breakfast Run which was using a new route this year. I always love this event as it truly has such an international feel and we always find ourselves chatting to complete strangers, bound by the spirit of the marathon, and often stay in touch with many of these people via social media or our blogs afterwards. This year was no exception, and of course I have a photo or a hundred to remember the experience! Afterwards we enjoyed a second breakfast of coffee, pain au chocolat, banana and water while taking in a lovely view of the Eiffel Tower across the Champ de Mars!

IMG_1252 IMG_1268We then meandered back to the hotel to get changed then headed out for some lunch and a few “errands” before opting for an afternoon nap and some chill out time back at the hotel before dinner. Basically it was a day revolving around food and marathon preparations!

IMG_1340On Sunday we were up early to get breakfast as soon as it was available, before getting organised for the short walk to the start/finish area. I had been watching the forecast all week and every time I looked, it was getting warmer. Walking up to drop my bag off before 8am without any need for warm clothing was already an indication that temperatures were going to soar. In the end, that put paid to my plans for a sub-4 time. I’ll write more about this in another post, but I know from speaking to others that practically everyone was much slower than anticipated and had to reset their goals in order to complete the race. It may have been disappointing on the day, but my time of 4:32:07 is actually my second fastest marathon time ever thanks to my oddly chequered history with the distance, and knowing that this was a below par performance gives me hope that I CAN do it under different circumstances. Once I’m recovered, I’ll be thinking about my next marathon and having another go at that elusive goal.

IMG_7673
IMG_1389And that’s it. A valuable reminder that it doesn’t matter how well your training goes, there can still be a spanner in the works come race day. You can only control so many things, and sadly the weather isn’t one of them. By resetting my goal I finished feeling healthy and injury-free so I can pick myself up, dust myself off and live to race another day. That’s way more important than risking my health over a finish time.

Look out for further Paris-related posts later this week with all the details!

Did you run or race in the heat this weekend? How did it go?
Anything you’d like me to write more about in my Paris roundups?
15 thoughts on “Week in Review – Race Week

    • Thank you! I’m actually ok about not hitting my goal. I know this wasn’t the right time and so many people didn’t finish on Sunday. I’ll go for it again later this year!
      My cat is doing brilliantly now, thanks. Amazing how they can bounce back!

      Like

  1. Congratulations on the injury-free training and racing! I know that falling short of a goal time is frustrating, but that’s still a very good time! I have been struggling with the weather myself–I prefer warm weather in general, but I had a tough couple of runs last week through the heat.

    Looking forward to your roundups!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. Generally I love warm weather, but I know I run better in cooler temps and the warmest day I trained in was nowhere near what we had on Sunday. It just wasn’t the right day to run fast, but who knows what the next one will bring…

      Like

  2. I think Sunday around the world just was not the day for PB’ing but for being sensible and enjoying the run and the work that had been put in. You sound completely at peace with having to re-adjust your goal and I think that’s very impressive – I’m not so sure I could handle that ‘niggle’. Yet more proof that distance running is as much mental capability as it is physical! Well done love ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello again! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I haven’t done many marathons but Paris on Sunday was certainly considerably tougher than either of my previous. My first was in Melbourne on what was actually a hotter day (27ยฐ!) but Paris hit its top a fair bit earlier in the run than Melbourne on that day (partly because Melbourne took longer to warm up but also partly because the Melbourne run started earlier). At several points I was wondering if I might have to resort to using the emergency Metro tickets I’d brought with me – I had to resort to a few walking breaks and I certainly wasn’t the only one (when I saw someone vomiting I thought among other things “OK – this isn’t just hard for me!”). Those tunnels along the Seine are quite cute (especially the motivational tunnel and the meditation tunnel) but the constant up-and-down came at exactly the wrong point for me.

    Alas I’m busy on April 8 next year but I’ll certainly be keeping an eye open for any further chances to get back to that course and do a better job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think you’ve probably summed up what it was like very well. It did seem to get hot very quickly and I saw lots of people really struggling too. Definitely a day to slow down and just get round in one piece! (I didn’t have emergency metro tickets, but I did have emergency cash for the same reason!). The tunnels were some welcome relief!
      I’m not sure yet what we’ll be doing next year, but we’ll definitely return to Paris again and some point.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Paris When it Sizzles Pt3 – Marathon de Paris 2017 | The Running Princess

  5. Congrats on finishing another marathon! Warm weather is so unpredictable, I hope you still enjoyed the race besides having to change you strategy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

