Friday Finds – 24th March

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

It was a grim start to the week for amateur sports as a BBC State of Sport investigation revealed the extent to which doping is spreading through sport at all levels. Of greatest concern is the statistic that among those polled, over a third personally knew someone who had doped. Looking around the start line at a race, whether or not a fellow runner has taken performance enhancing drugs is the last thing on my mind, but this poll suggests that the issue is more widespread than I would ever have imagined. Perhaps that’s just me being naïve? I’d love to know your thoughts on this.

And there was further worrying news yesterday with the announcement that JogScotland is to suffer a funding cut of £100,000 which will put its future at risk. While I’ve never attended a JogScotland training session, I know of a number of people who have found it invaluable in getting them running, keeping them running and introducing them to like-minded people. I’ve had a couple of positive experiences taking part in JogScotland events, and when it comes to helping those who for whatever reason don’t wish to join a running club, JogScotland is seen as welcoming and inclusive. In an age when inactivity is a ticking time-bomb for health, do we really want to lose a programme that has gained 40,000 members since 2002? I really hope something can be done to save this important resource.

Let’s look to something a bit more positive now. Earlier in the week I came across this article from The Huffington Post. It was published a while ago now, but the content remains relevant as it examines the vocabulary we use to describe our lives, and the messages these words send to children. I may not be a parent, but I do work with young people and considering the connotations of words is part and parcel of my job. Although written ostensibly for parents, the messages within each of these words is relevant for everyone, regardless of age:

I also enjoyed this piece from Outside in which the writer describes his challenge of running a sub-5 minute mile. Far from being an elite athlete, his times in other races are not hugely different to some of my PBs, so this endeavour was more about setting a huge goal and striving to achieve it – something I very much approve of! The headline kind of gives away the result, but I still enjoyed finding out a bit more about how the writer trained and how he felt on the track during his attempt. Running a single, timed mile is something I’ve never tried, but the idea intrigues me and I often wonder what time I would be capable of. Perhaps one day I’ll find out…

And finally, if you thought the track marathon I included earlier this month sounded a bit tedious, then today I have something that’s potentially even more dull: a marathon in a multi-storey car park. No, your eyes aren’t deceiving you. That’s a marathon in a multi-storey car park! 71 times up and down all the ramps, staring at concrete, graffiti and rather questionable puddles. Personally, I think I’d prefer the track marathon – at least there would be a bit more daylight and fresh air!

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

One thought on “Friday Finds – 24th March

  1. Pingback: Week in Review – The Big One! | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

