Week in Review – The Monster Month Begins

March means the big miles in marathon training, so this week my focus has really been on looking after my body to ensure I complete these longer runs healthily. As ever, I’m linking up with Jessie at The Right Fits and Jess at Jess Runs ATL for my weekly training roundup.

2axmzdp

Just for a change, I moved things around a bit again, but this time it was to accommodate changes I had to make last week rather than issues this week. Here’s how my week looked:

Monday – Hatha yoga
Tuesday – bike reps at the gym + swim
Wednesday – hill reps
Thursday – PT session + Ashtanga yoga
Friday – rest
Saturday – parkrun + Hatha yoga
Sunday – long run

After missing out on both my yoga classes last week, I decided to begin my week with a Hatha class to stretch out my body and get the week off to a good start. It was a great class focusing on hip opening and I really enjoyed it. Staying a bit later at work for a meeting meant there wasn’t quite enough time to squeeze in my swim but I had expected this and was quite happy to move my swim to Tuesday.

Before that swim I had my bike reps to do. It was the same work/rest intervals as last week, but with two more reps added on. I knew that last week I had been a little tired thanks to some broken sleep (not such a problem this week!) so was interested to see how I felt during the workout. Overall I felt like I was much stronger throughout the workout and was able to work harder. I also enjoyed my swim yesterday as I finally progressed from swimming single lengths with a stop at the end to turn, to turning right round to swim continuously in “doubles”. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep progressing this. After all that I was ready for a nice relaxing evening. I think the cat was tired too as she tried to take a nap inside my training journal!

IMG_0880Wednesday is hill rep day and I had my last set of my current workout to do and I was pleased to find I was able to run some of the reps a little faster again. It was particularly pleasing to run the last two to the furthest lamppost faster than before. Next week I’ll have one further rep to add to the top lamppost on the hill. It will be tough, but it’s just one rep – I can do it!

IMG_0882IMG_0885On Thursday I headed to Steve’s studio for my PT session. We worked a little bit on knee drive, but the main focus was on shoulder/upper back mobility as Steve has observed a tightness there when he watches me finish parkrun. It was a combination of the good old core momentum trainer and a gym ball for this one. Once that workout was done, I was off to the yoga studio for my Ashtanga class. I really missed this last week and really enjoyed this week’s class. It was great to stretch out and feel my body getting more flexible.

By Friday I was ready for a rest, but first it was a trip to the vet for a followup appointment – the joy of having an elderly cat! She’s doing pretty well though so fingers crossed there won’t be any more trips for a couple of months when she gets her next check. Once home, we chilled out on the armchair for a while until Steve came home and it was time to go and eat. I’ve slept much better this week, but was still tired as we’re pretty deep into a busy term alongside all my training so I was pleased to get to bed.

When I woke up on Saturday (early as the cat wanted fed!) the weather was pretty poor. Once The Boss was fed I headed back to bed to sleep a little longer, but sadly the weather didn’t improve in that time: it was going to be a soggy parkrun! As it was the first Saturday of the month I was a pacer again and had the 26 minute bib. Last time I was a little slower at 26:11 so wanted to work on getting a bit closer to 26 minutes. I completely reset my watch to kilometres so I would get more frequent alerts and checked my required pace. Despite the rain and very boggy grass section, I was pretty much on pace for more than half of the run, but was a little too fast over the last kilometre or so and ended up finishing in 25:37 – oops! I don’t think I had anyone running with me, but if I did then they maybe got a better time than they were expecting!

IMG_7187 IMG_7215Following a quick shower to wash off all the mud and warm up bit, it was off to my regular Saturday morning Hatha yoga class. It was a quiet class this week as lots of people had other things on, butI don’t mind that as it means a bit more attention from the teacher when needed. I really enjoy the stretch after parkrun, especially through my hips and hamstrings, so I feel good ahead of my Sunday long run.
IMG_0891

Sunday began much like Saturday with an early call to feed the cat then a return to bed to snooze for another hour or so. On the plus side, the weather was much more settled so I wasn’t going to get a soaking! This week was the first of The Big Ones as I had an 18 mile run to complete. Up to now I’ve been keeping the pace deliberately slow on my long runs, aiming for somewhere in the 9:30-9:40 per mile range, but since I’ve often caught my legs trying to go faster, I decided for my longest runs to just go with how I feel, keep it fairly comfortable and see what happens. For this run I came out with a 9:22 per mile average, but this included running up some pretty steep hills so clearly I was much quicker over the flats and downhills. At several points in the run I was running at, or faster than, my goal marathon pace without having to try – even towards the end! – so that leaves me feeling optimistic that my training is falling into place and that I CAN continue to target my goal for Paris. Next week I have a half marathon which I’ve entered as a tune-up race so it will be interesting to see how I perform in that. It all seems like it’s getting so close now!

IMG_0928All in all, I’m pleased with my training this week. I felt strong on the bike, strong on the hills and ran my 18 miler better than I ran my 16 miler. Lots of positive progress – fingers crossed it continues this way!

Any positives in your recent training?
How will you progress your training in March?

5 thoughts on “Week in Review – The Monster Month Begins

  1. Wow, great to hear about your training! I had a 5k race this weekend as the halfway prep for my 10k. I lost a few weeks of training to health problems, so I wasn’t very optimistic. Oh, and it was about 30 degrees colder than what I usually run in! But I stuck to a really consistent pace and found out when I got to the end that I’d set a new PR! It’s not a super impressive time, but it was a huge improvement for me and I’m really encouraged by the proof of how my training is working.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Every improvement counts. I remember being overjoyed with a one second PB a couple of years ago! Well done on giving it a go. Feeling underprepared probably helped you to do well as there was no pressure. Now you can focus on preparing for your 10k.

      Like

  2. 18 miles! Way to go and what a great feeling to finish so strong. šŸ™‚

    Thanks again for joining our link-up, I enjoy reading about your well-balanced training. So impressive how you fit it all in. So consistent with your yoga too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Week in Review – It’s All About Recovery! | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

