Week in Review – Hello 2017!

It’s been a while since I wrote a series of training updates and so, with a spring goal marathon in my sights, I thought that I would go to the opposite extreme from my last, secretive, training cycle and aim to write a weekly recap of my training for the Paris marathon and my goal of setting a new PB this year. I also thought it would be fun to link up with Jessie at The Right Fits and Jess at Jess Runs ATL as part of their weekly linkup, so this will be my first post as part of that.

2axmzdpMy main goal as the new year got underway was to make sure I recovered properly from the madness of the New Year Triple last Sunday then make sure I maintained the consistency of my workouts to set me up for the weeks ahead. I was also taking part in a virtual event, clocking up my miles from the 1st-8th to start the year on a positive note and earn this fantastic medal that doubles up as a magnetic chalkboard!

Photo from Virtual Runner UK Facebook page

Photo from Virtual Runner UK Facebook page

The pattern of my training at the moment is:

Monday – swim
Tuesday – bike intervals at the gym
Wednesday – hill reps
Thursday – PT session plus ashtanga yoga
Friday – rest day
Saturday – parkrun plus hatha yoga
Sunday – long run

With the past week still being a holiday, not all of this happened, but I still put in a solid week of training and am happy with what I’ve done.

Following Sunday’s exertions, Monday became a rest day. We had family commitments that day as it was Steve’s brother’s birthday and our first chance to really toast the new year and indulge in some party food after being very well behaved on Hogmanay. It was great to spend time with family and friends, and we played a great game which I liked (because I kept winning!). What a laugh when my brother-in-law said he hadn’t realised I was so competitive!!

IMG_0379

But it was business as usual on Tuesday as I headed to the gym in the late afternoon to complete a set of intervals on the bike. I have been doing a 10 minute warm up followed by 45 seconds hard at a high intensity then a 15 second rest. This was my last session at my current intensity level, so I had 20 reps to complete before a 10 minute easy cycle to cool down. This is a tough workout, but I know it has been benefitting my running as it boosts my fitness without the high impact of running and keeps my legs turning over at a reasonably high cadence. I listen to podcasts to give me something to focus on when it gets tough, then treat myself to a nice sauna once I’ve stretched and done some mobility work.

On Wednesday I was out first thing (or as “first thing” as I get when I’m not at work!) for my hill reps. Again, this was the last session in my current cycle and it was a warm up of about a mile followed by 20 reps. I have been using a hill close to our house and measure my reps point to point. It takes me around 30 seconds to run hard up the hill, then I have a 1 minute rest interval to jog back down and “reset” for the next one. After the last rep I enjoy a nice cooldown jog home.

IMG_0386

Yes, Santa DID bring me that New Balance/J Crew running top I asked for!

Thursday got off to an exciting start when my new parkrun T-shirt arrived. I ran my 50th parkrun in early November, but had to wait for new stock to arrive before I could claim my free 50 club milestone tech tee. I was so excited to finally be able to get mine!

fullsizeoutput_1c1a

I then headed off to Steve’s studio for a PT session where we did some core and mobility work using the core momentum trainer. It’s a great piece of kit, but using it does make you sound like you’re playing the maracas! My yoga studio was still closed for the festive season this past week, so I used the remainder of the day to relax and get my head ready for returning to work.

fullsizeoutput_1c19

Friday was my rest day and it’s always really tempting when I’m not at work to have a really lazy day, but since I want to maintain my streak of reaching my step goal, I decided to walk to the gym to relax in the jacuzzi and sauna for a bit then walk home, taking in one or two errands along the way. Steve and I always go to a nearby pub to eat on a Friday night rather than getting a takeaway as your weekly treat, so by the time I had done all that I had reached my 10,000 steps.

Of course Saturday is known around here as parkrunday and this week was no exception. It was a rather foggy, murky looking day, but I still had great fun volunteering as a pace runner. You can read more about that here. My hatha yoga class doesn’t start again until next week, however I had some errands in town and I wanted to get a few things organised before the new term begins, so I was kept pretty busy!

IMG_6913

And Sunday was a return to a more “normal” routine. The last few Sundays have been a bit out of the ordinary what with the Santa Dash, festive trip to Edinburgh, Christmas Day and New Year. In the weeks before that, Steve and I enjoyed some fantastic trail runs, but it’s now time to get back out on the road and prepare our bodies for the marathon. This week was a gentle solo 10k which I really enjoyed. It feels like a while since I headed out on a Sunday morning with my podcast to run at an easy pace, and it felt good to finish knowing I could have carried on. I know it won’t feel like that every week!

IMG_0455

Overall a nice, consistent week with a bit of room for some final festive celebrations. Now it’s time for a return to work and a return to normality (whatever that may be) while I tick off my training in my exciting new training journal. Right now I feel refreshed and am looking forward to the challenges ahead.

IMG_0446
What are you training for right now?
What has been the highlight of your week?

5 thoughts on “Week in Review – Hello 2017!

  1. Thanks for linking up!! I’m looking forward to following your training! I’m currently training for Rock n Roll DC which is a half marathon March 11th. I have that same training journal.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So excited that you linked up! Strong week of work too. I hope to run Paris some year…Is it a lottery or can anyone register?

    LOVE that JCrew/New Balance top! Santa was good to you, haha!

    I have the same training journal 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paris is great because there’s no lottery so anyone can register. They release the first places shortly after the race in April then more around September. Prices are tiered so it’s better to be early. It does sell out but they have a huge field so I’ve never had a problem getting in.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Week in Review – Settling In | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

