Friday Finds – 23rd December

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

At long last, I’m finished work for Christmas and looking forward to a chance to relax over the next couple of weeks. But first, the small matter of celebrating the season, so before I head out for a turkey dinner, here’s a selection box of things I’ve come across this week…

First, a follow on from last week’s post where I included Nike’s announcement of the Breaking2 project. This story has continued to be front and centre in my news feeds and I just listened to a podcast interview with Ed Caesar (who will be covering the project for Wired magazine). Unsurprisingly, everyone has an opinion on this particular topic, so Outside online gathered together three experts to share their thoughts:

Also from Outside, I enjoyed this roundup of the best fitness advice garnered from various interviewees throughout 2016. At this indulgent (and for some, difficult) time of year, it serves as a useful reminder of how we can maximise our performance through simple, everyday things like eating well. For me, I know I need to make rest much more of a priority during term time as I tend to get rushed off my feet at work then keep on going with training and other commitments. Maybe that’s a goal for next year?

Next up, a bit of tech. I don’t know about you, but I’m really fussy about the earphones I use during workouts: I need them to stay in my ears, I need them to be comfortable and ideally I need them to be wireless. When Apple announced their new AirPods, I was a bit sceptical about how they would work for running, but this week a review by a runner surfaced which seemed to suggest they would be ok after all (although I would still worry about losing one!). Potentially good news for anyone who finds a pair under their Christmas tree this year!

Appealing to the stats geek in me (at least as far as running is concerned!) is Strava’s roundup of 2016 data. With 9.6 activities recorded EVERY SECOND of the year, they have plenty to go on! I love looking at these kinds of numbers and was particularly intrigued to find that just 40 users logged an activity every day of the year. I’m not sure whether I would have expected that to be a bigger or smaller number, but it’s still a fascinating statistic and I’d love to know more about what kinds of activities they recorded. I wonder how my own stats will compare…?

And finally, if you’re looking for something to do to escape the family/burn off the turkey/entertain yourself over the next few days, why not have a go at some Strava art. I know I’ve included stories of this unique art form in the past, and now we have some festive art to add to the mix. I especially liked the quotes from the runner alongside each picture. I’m not sure I’m artistic enough to plot out a suitable route, but if you create some Strava art I’d love to see it!

Happy Christmas!
The Running Princess

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds – 23rd December

Leave a Reply

