Friday Finds – 16th December

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

Oops! Some Friday festivities meant that I didn’t manage to post on time this week, but never fear, I still have some finds to share with you this week (even if they are a little late!).

The biggest news this week is that Nike announced a new project called Breaking2 which has a very straightforward aim: to break the 2 hour barrier in a marathon in the spring of 2017. It may be straightforward, but it’s not exactly simple and Nike are not alone in their quest to achieve this holy grail of marathon running as I have shared in previous posts. Unsurprisingly, an announcement like this leads to a lot of coverage, my favourite being by Ed Caesar for Wired:

And since I find the idea so fascinating, I thought I would also include a couple of other articles I’ve come across on this subject:

Moving away from the marathon, something else that caught my eye this week was another article about the cognitive benefits of running. I know I’ve shared a number of these before, but what got my attention in this one was a point that I had not considered before – that the research did not prove conclusively that it was running which led to different thinking patterns, merely that runners had those patterns. So which is the cause and which is the effect? Could other sports yield similar results? Yet again, it’s running that sparks an interest in a field that doesn’t normally excite me!

This weekend the BBC crowns its annual Sports Personality of the Year. While this accolade is likely to go to Andy Murray, I have to include this great piece by Sean Ingle in The Guardian on Alistair Brownlee and that moment in Mexico. It’s so tough to narrow down the winning sports personality in a year so jam-packed with amazing sporting moments, but I’m fond of the Brownlees and love how that moment really put triathlon on the map and reinforced the wonderful (but competitive) relationship between these two brothers as well as reminding us how down-to-earth they are.

Another great personality in the sporting world is ultra runner Scott Jurek who also featured in The Guardian this week as part of a new series looking at the morning routines of successful people. As someone who is constantly trying to make more of my mornings (not easy when I’m a natural night owl trying to exist as a morning lark!) I find it really interesting to learn about what others do to get their day off to a good start.

And finally, if you’ve been enjoying some festive indulgence of late but are a bit worried that all the chocolate might not be all that good for you, then here’s a reminder that dark chocolate can actually help your body to recover. I’m certainly a fan of a chocolate recovery drink, and this article contains a recipe to make a hot chocolate recovery drink – yum! So while a mint hot chocolate (Christmas in a cup!) might not make you feel at your most athletic, there can still be a place for a little chocolate in your life.

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

One thought on “Friday Finds – 16th December

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds – 23rd December | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

