Friday Finds – 30th September

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

And just like that, it’s Friday again already! I don’t know about you, but I’m so busy right now that it feels like time is just flying by. Looks like there are plenty of interesting finds to share with you this week too, so let’s get on with it!

First up, the US edition of Women’s Running has been at it again. Having previously featured a “plus-size” woman as their cover star and then, more recently, a transgender runner, they have now become the first health and fitness magazine in the US to feature a woman in a hijab. It’s fantastic to see a publication acknowledging the real diversity there is in the running community and providing positive role models for women everywhere.

Something I find interesting is some of the psychology of goal setting. Setting goals is something I’ve written about before, however as a teacher I regularly come across pupils who are feeling very negative about their goals. They believe they cannot achieve them (which thus becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy) or set an unrealistic goal which is doomed to failure. In this piece from The Age, Cat Rodie discusses self-sabotage and what we can do to ensure we avoid falling into the trap of sabotaging our own goals before we’ve even begun to work towards them.

Over the past few weeks I have been trying to become a bit more of a morning person (not easy as the mornings get darker here in the northern hemisphere!). I now take a short walk in the morning before getting ready for work and have even managed some pre-work swims. I still find rising early pretty tricky, but have noted that I feel better for getting some exercise first thing. Now, I’m considering moving one or two other workouts to the morning in order to create more time for myself in the evening. I need to give this a bit more thought, but when I read this next article I did feel like it was speaking directly to me. I know from my early walks that there are a lot of runners and cyclists out early in the morning, so maybe I’ll join them some time. I’d love to hear any tips you have for rising early and getting a workout in first thing.

I don’t know about you, but despite knowing I should vary my running routes I do still have favourites that I return to again and again. One runner took things a bit further by recording all his runs over the course of a year using the time-lapse feature on his Go Pro. The result is an amazing video charting the changing seasons on the same 5 mile loop of trail. A great idea for a project, but it must have taken AGES to edit it all together! Anyone up for the challenge?

And finally, I bet we’ve all wondered how we might stack up against Usain Bolt, but only Late Late Show host James Corden would actually set up a race to find out. The results of the car park sprint probably come as no surprise, but it’s interesting to see how a group of mere mortals compares to the fastest man on earth! Shame they didn’t record times though…

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds – 30th September

Leave a Reply

