Friday Finds – 23rd September

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

Welcome to Friday Finds Saturday Stories. Yes, I’m late this week. I’m not going to make excuses, I just couldn’t get my act together to publish on time for a variety of reasons. I’ve never missed a week since I started this series though (although one or two have admittedly been late!) and I’m not going to start now!

First up, a piece by Phil Hewitt writing in The Guardian. This caught my attention as I read Hewitt’s previous book Keep On Running and very much enjoyed the reminder of some of my own race experiences. Now, Hewitt has a new book out, this time focusing on extraordinary running stories from around the world. Some of those stories are mentioned in the article, however I also liked the reference to this year’s Paris marathon, as Hewitt’s description chimes very much with my own experience of the race. I think I’ll definitely be adding this book to my reading list.

On the subject of extraordinary stories, I have to include the story of the week from the triathlon World Series finale in Cozumel, Mexico. I think everyone around the world has probably come across this story by now, but I was so struck by the bond between the brothers and how one was prepared to sacrifice his finish time to help the other in his moment of need. It’s inspiring stuff and if you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend that you do.

Next up, another gem from Outside Online. We all have the things we’re “comfortable” with in fitness: running, cycling, lifting heavy weights. But what if we had to step out of that comfort zone and try something different? That’s what happened when Outside took six writers and had them spend time on a completely different discipline to their usual routine. There was pain, there was embarrassment and there was googling of unfamiliar terms. All of which means there was entertainment for us…

We’re getting into that time of year when I find it hard to wake up in the morning. Past the Equinox, and dark mornings make it very difficult for me to rise, a problem I don’t really have during lighter months. I’ve been considering one of those lamps which slowly wakens you with increasing light to replicate dawn, however it seems another way to go might be a yoga alarm clock. What’s that I hear you say? You’ve not heard of that? Well neither had I until I read about an app which wakens you with the voice of a yoga teacher encouraging you into some gentle asanas. Morning yoga sounds like a great way to start the day, so this may be worth investigating further.

And finally, there’s nothing better than a cold beer after a hard run, but what if  a dietary issue meant you could no longer have that celebratory cold one? That’s exactly the situation one runner found herself in when she was diagnosed with a gluten intolerance. Her solution? Create her own beer! It’s a fantastic story, but sadly the beer is only available in California right now. Sounds like as good a reason as any for a trip to the golden state!

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

One thought on “Friday Finds – 23rd September

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds – 19th May | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

