Friday Finds – 22nd July

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

Since FINALLY adding a weekly yoga class to my training at the beginning of May, I’ve found myself becoming a bit obsessed with yoga and it was really nice to do a bit of poolside yoga while I was on holiday to help stretch my body and set me up for the day. I also read a few yoga-related articles, so thought I would make this week a yoga special.

First up, an article I came across last month, close to International Yoga day on the 21st of June. While the article focuses on the rise of what they term the “golden yogi” (i.e. women over the age of 50), it does detail a number of benefits to regular yoga practice in terms of both the mind and the body which lead me to believe that it’s worth taking up yoga at any age. If yoga can make such a difference, then I look forward to continuing this journey.

More recently, The Guardian reported on how sporting greats are using yoga to help give them an edge. It has been widely reported that two-time British Scottish Wimbledon champion Andy Murray has used yoga to help him since having back surgery, and a number of other athletes from a variety of sporting backgrounds also credit yoga with helping them. I’m not likely to be troubling the elite field any time soon, but if yoga can help with my flexibility and strength, I will be more than happy.

I was also intrigued to learn that the TRX system (which I have used in training sessions with Steve quite frequently) can be beneficial in yoga, as it can help to provide a bit more feedback about the alignment of the body or provide the support to try a new pose. The article below has a video showing how the TRX can be used to help progress towards Crow pose, one requiring good core strength and balance. I’ve only manage to hold this pose for a second (if that!) but can see how the TRX might help me here. I’ll be encouraging Steve to look into this a bit more. Perhaps I’ll make that his professional development for this year 😉

I was also interested in this piece from the Huffington Post about the writer’s experience of a yoga retreat aimed at using yoga to improve running, but this focused less on a physical improvement and more on a mental one. As you scroll down, you will find a number of tips for becoming a more joyful runner, including some familiar strategies such as mantras and counting. Perhaps there are some further ideas in here which might be useful.

And finally, I now have the perfect excuse to include some pictures of cute animals in Friday Finds. Enjoy these 15 animals who have been captured at just the right moment and, as an added bonus, a brilliant video of a chihuahua doing yoga alongside his owner. Namaste!

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds – 22nd July

  1. TRX and yoga. That would be intense but would be great at helping.
    I am not good at crow pose either. So afraid I will fall on my face. 😦
    I am really loving yoga too and happy I have incorporated it into my training.

    Like

Leave a Reply

