Friday Finds – 24th June

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

Life is a funny old thing. One minute you’re flying along feeling great, and the next you come plummeting back to earth with a thump. And just when you think it can’t get any worse, it does.

I’m feeling a bit discombobulated this week: not only is there the usual end of term exhaustion, but there’s a rather uncertain air everywhere. And to cap it all off, my beloved MacBook died so while I wait for it to be repaired, I’m blogging via my iPad, which is not ideal.

With all that in mind, I think this week’s Friday Finds needs some positive stories. Stories that are inspiring, uplifting and entertaining.

I’m going to begin this week with one of the most heart-warming stories I’ve seen in a while. At this time of year, schools up and down the country are holding their annual sports day. One sports day in particular made the news when a group made sure that their classmate, who has cerebral palsy, had a sports day to remember…

Next up, some positivity from everyone’s favourite athletic social network, Strava. I’ve long believed that if you take part in an athletic endeavour, at any level, then you are an athlete. Strava, it seems, agrees and I love their new video with the tag line, “strive to be an athlete, and you are one”. What do you think?

Next up, the rather odd story of Juris Silenieks. This runner recently completed the Hotlanta Half Marathon in 1 hour 17 minutes. What’s so remarkable about that? Well what if I told you that Silenieks ran his race in dress shoes? That’s right, that’s 13.1 miles of chafing leather. Ouch!

Following on from that, a story that comes direct from the “only in America” category. A would-be bicycle thief got more than he bargained for when he was chased down, not on foot, but on horseback! A passerby spotted the theft outside a supermarket, took his horse from its trailer and set off in pursuit. It’s like something from a movie unfolding in real life!

And finally, if like me you’re in need of a laugh, check out this video alerting us to a worrying trend spreading among young people…distance running! Just place your tongue firmly in your cheek, sit back and enjoy!

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

