Friday Finds – 17th June

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

You may remember the US edition of Women’s Running magazine hitting the headlines last summer when it featured a plus-size model on the cover. The UK edition soon followed suit and since then has been proudly featuring “real” runners as its cover stars each month.  And now the US edition of the magazine is once more demonstrating that running is for ALL women by putting a transgender woman on the cover for the first time. Over the past year I’ve been struck by how many of my pupils want to engage with LGBT issues and with this news coming in the wake of the horrifying events in Orlando last weekend, I’m sure this particular cover will be well received.

Of course, women’s sport and all that entails – participation, coverage, sponsorship – has long been an area I’d like to see changing. Campaigns like This Girl Can and other surveys regularly highlight the fact that so many women report wanting to take part in sport, but worry too much about being judged for how they look. Even the elite are never far from being judged on their appearance rather than their ability and that’s a shocking state of affairs. Writing in The Observer on Sunday, Anna Kessel  discusses body image and its impact on women’s sport. I found seeing all this evidence in one place made for an eye-opening read.

Kessel’s book has already made it on to my summer reading list, a list which is forever growing as more and more running-related titles are published. And it is this boom in running books which is covered in this next piece from The Wall Street Journal as it looks for the driving force behind the plethora of titles now available. I have to say, I do enjoy reading about running and many of the titles mentioned in the article are ones I’ve either already read or have stacked up ready to look at. I guess huge numbers of runners must be the same in order to fuel this trend. Are you one of them?

One runner taking her love of books to extremes is Miriam Diaz-Gilbert who often “rescues” books during her runs. Now I know all too well the lure of a second-hand book and have fond memories of stockpiling them at primary school bring-and-buy sales, but I’ve never (yet) come home from a run with a book. Mind you, given the number of books I already have (even after a bit of thinning out during house moves) I’m not sure I would have the room!

And finally, I’m going to round off this week’s finds with some rather philosophical thoughts from Jason Saltmarsh who wants to remind us of the inner strength we all possess. Sometimes we all need to take a step back, reassess and listen to our own rhythms. It’s when we take the time to look inside that we find our inner strength, something we could all do with being reminded of from time to time.

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

3 thoughts on “Friday Finds – 17th June

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds – 30th September | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

