Friday Finds – 25th March

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

Ok, ok, I know it’s Sunday and I’m late with this again. I can only apologise and promise to get my act together. But I do have some interesting reads for you, so settle down with a cup of tea, a chocolate egg and enjoy!

First up this week, a rather interesting piece from The Guardian about that familiar runner’s tendency to never be fully satisfied with an outcome. While that sounds rather negative, the premise of the piece is valid – that regardless of how a race/run goes, we always want to do better. If it went badly, we dissect the race to work out what went wrong; if it went well, we set ourselves a new target to surpass our latest achievement. It’s what makes us all such a driven and tenacious bunch, and as I rebuild my running post-injury, this really resonated with me.

What is clear, is that a lot of what motivates us to go on and makes us strive for more is our mindset, so I was also interested to read a report on a study into an ultra runner’s physical and emotional experiences during a 10 week running challenge. While I’ve never ventured beyond 26.2 miles and have no current plans to (never say never!) many of the findings would also be true of other runners, such as experiencing a more positive mindset during the run and only noticing a dip afterwards – the classic “runner’s high” followed by post-event blues, I would guess. If reading up on psychology is your thing, then there’s a link in this article to the full report.

Someone this may very well apply to is Eddie Izzard, who last weekend completed his 27 marathons in 27 days for Sport Relief. I listened to an interview with Eddie on the latest Marathon Talk podcast, and was really struck by the comments about the mental aspect of any challenge as well as by some of the stats about his running (I do enjoy a running stat!). In this piece from the BBC, attention switches to how Eddie now recovers from his exertions:

Moving away from more the more mental aspects of running, this week I also came across an interesting piece about the importance of balance – not the constant juggling of life around training, but the much more physical type of balance involved in running efficiently and (ideally) avoiding injury. As someone “blessed” with a genetic pre-disposition to poor balance, this is something I have worked on a little over the years, and is perhaps something I should pay more attention to in future as it could make a huge difference to my form and, in turn, how my body responds to training.

And finally, if you’ve been getting some regular runs in, then this piece from The Huffington Post might just appeal to you. If I’m perfectly honest, I could probably answer yes to EVERY SINGLE ONE of these 14 signs that I love running too much, in fact, I may even have more than one drawer dedicated to charity vests and finisher T-shirts! At least I’m not alone in my hoarding…! đŸ˜‰

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

One thought on “Friday Finds – 25th March

Leave a Reply

