Friday Finds – 12th February

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

A couple of weeks ago I shared the story that Adidas had ended their sponsorship deal with the IAAF and wondered whether or not any other sponsors would follow suit. This week I got my answer as Nestlé also decided to withdraw their support. Negative publicity was once more cited as the reason, with worries of the impact on Nestlé’s reputation mentioned in a statement. As this story continues to feature regularly in the news, yet again I must wonder what further fallout there will be.

A more inspiring story comes from Sport Relief and Radio 1 DJ Greg James who this week completed his Gregathlon challenge of 5 triathlons in 5 days. Joining a growing list of celebrities to have completed gruelling physical challenges for Sport Relief, Greg completed his final triathlon in Norwich today.  In just 5 days he has amassed a total of 3.6 miles of swimming, 196.7 miles on the bike and 46 miles running, raising over £750,000 so far. I know how hard it can be to persuade your body to keep going across multiple events, so to keep on going for 5 days is incredible and I am hoping to see this challenge televised around Sport Relief weekend next month.

This week also saw the publication of one of those studies that really just confirmed what we already suspected: that running is good for our brains! More specifically, sustained aerobic activity has been found to have a positive impact on the part of our brains responsible for learning. I know I do some of my best thinking whilst out for a run, so it’s good to have confirmation that my favourite activity not only keeps my body fit and healthy, but is good for my brain too!

Someone who has recently discovered the benefits of running is Michelle Thomas, writing for online magazine Standard Issue. After years of avoiding exercise and battling body issues, she now realises how going for a run is not a chore but an enjoyable way to look after herself. And in this article she recounts her journey to this particular revelation (and her running plans for the future). It would be fantastic if more of us would follow suit.

And finally, I’ve been following the news that my favourite running shoe manufacturer has launched a new running shoe specifically for women. That’s right, rather than being a “women’s version” of a man’s shoe, this one was designed with women in mind from the outset. I know from some of my reading that men and women tend to have different patterns of injury and since our bodies are different shapes, it’s hardy surprising that our running styles would differ too. I will continue to read about this shoe with interest, and may even give it a go myself some time!

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds – 12th February

  1. Great reads. (I’m a little behind in my blog post reading.)
    I hope more sneaker companies start to follow Adidas. I have very narrow and long feet but I can only find one brand that sells a woman’s shoe in my size.
    I tried an Adidas sneaker on Saturday and had to wear a man’s sneaker cause the women’s didn’t come in my size. I liked the men’s shoe but sometimes it’s nice to wear something made for me. 🙂
    Running is such a good mental relief. That’s one of the main reasons why I do it.

    Like

    • I’m waaaay behind with my blog reading too!
      Shoes are such a tricky issue, but once I find the right one for me I tend to stick with it. I also tend to rotate different shoes for different types of run, so I like to have a variety on the go at any one time. At the moment Adidas is really working for me whereas other brands don’t always suit my feet the same.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Friday Finds – 26th February | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

