Friday Finds – 5th February

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

How’s your running going this winter? Perhaps you’ve been hitting the streets in all weathers or perhaps you’ve found yourself either missing runs or heading for the treadmill instead. For me, running outside is always far preferable, but there can still be a place for the treadmill e.g. when the weather is such that to head out would be dangerous or, as at present, when I’m coming back from injury and looking to play it safe. To my mind, heading out in the fresh air is far superior. Surely being in the great outdoors, running on a variety of terrains and taking in the scenery must be of greater benefit than the unvarying surface and views of the average treadmill? And it seems that Michael Mosley, writing for the BBC, agrees with me. But as he points out, the best kind of running is the kind you will stick to, so if the treadmill is your thing, keep going!

Another story which caught my eye on the BBC website surrounded a very intriguing 10k race in Moldova. Imagine running around 100m underground, guided only by a head torch and with no fresh air to breathe, just the heady scent of more than a million bottles of wine. If that sounds like your kind of thing, then this race is for you…you even get a mulled wine at the end for your efforts!

Having recently listened to an interview with ultra runner Susie Chan, I followed with interest as she took on the 12-hour treadmill record. As you know, I love to see stories of positive female role models, so was thrilled to learn that Chan beat the previous unofficial record and earned herself a place in the record books.

A more unlikely source for running-related articles is Business Insider, yet that’s exactly where my next pick comes from. Taking the oft-quoted point of view that running is a cheap sport, the writer examines some of the true costs incurred by running competitively, as well as sharing some of the free benefits of the sport. I’ve often thought it would be interesting to add up just how much my “cheap” sport costs me per year when race entries, kit and new shoes are added up, but to be honest I’m a bit scared to see the result! Still, there are far more unhealthy ways I could be spending my money, so for now I’ll not think about it too much!

And finally, a friend recently sent me the link to this listicle on Buzzfeed. I don’t know about you, but it certainly seems to sum up many of my thoughts on running!

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

