Friday Finds – 18th December

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/health/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

For me, today marks the beginning of my Christmas holiday. Two weeks to get a bit of rest and get myself ready to hit the new term with renewed energy. This will inevitably mean sleeping an hour or so longer in the mornings, so should I be worried about a recent study which suggested that lie-ins might be bad for us? According to this article from The Guardian, probably not. Quality sleep is certainly important for good health, as is a consistent sleeping pattern. I, for one, will be focussing on getting some refreshing, quality sleep over the next couple of weeks.

One thing I’ll be doing this weekend is watching the BBC Sports Personality of the Year. I enjoy reflecting on great sporting moments from the year, and this year one of my sporting heroes, Jessica Ennis-Hill has been nominated. I always admire her grit and determination, so was fascinated to read this piece about her by her coach Toni Minichiello. I’d love to see her win on Sunday night!

I’m in need of some time off my feet, so a return to the bike is in order for me. I was therefore intrigued to learn that a bit of time in the saddle could actually improve my running speed. My backside might not be too happy about being in the saddle, but it’s a small price to pay for a burst of speed.

Another good thing about time off is the chance to catch up on some reading. An interesting book which, unfortunately, I’m unlikely to get hold of, is Clarence de Mar’s memoir Marathon. De Mar won the Boston Marathon SEVEN times between 1911 and 1930 as well as an Olympic bronze in 1924. His memoir was published in 1937 and, despite all the accumulated research and advancing technology of the years since, many of his views on running continue to hold true today. Take a look at this article for some examples:

And finally, at this time of year we might be inclined to run in fancy dress (santa suits, reindeer antlers, novelty hats, etc) however one thing I’ve never considered running in is a suit. But that’s exactly what one runner has done… and set a new world record along the way! I wonder what other running world records might be up for grabs…

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

