Roads? Where we’re going we don’t need roads!

Ok, that’s a bit of a lie. As a road runner, I definitely need roads, however today is Back to the Future Day and when else will I get the opportunity to use that line from the film as my post title?

IMG_5349

But you might be wondering why on earth I’m writing about a film on what is ostensibly a running blog. The answer is simple. Quite apart form this being my absolute all-time favourite film, today I was even able to make my run Back to the Future themed thanks to a virtual race I found out about. Hosted by Virtual Nerd Runs, the event raised funds for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Theoretically it could be run at any time, but of course most wanted to run on October 21st 2015, aka Back to the Future Day (the day Marty and the Doc travelled to in Back to the Future 2).

There was also no particular distance required, leaving me free to come up with my own ideas. I played around with all the significant numbers from the films: the date, 88mph, etc but in the end decided to stick to a short run since I’ve been feeling a little congested this week. So in honour of 21/10/15, I ran for 21 minutes and 10 seconds. Had I been feeling healthier, I would probably have done either 8.8 miles or 8.8km, but in reality the distance didn’t matter. What did matter, was the fact that so many people were donating to charity (and the fantastic medal I had waiting for me after my slightly geeky run!).

IMG_5345

Time circuits on!

IMG_5352

My race bib

IMG_5351

Really cool medal!

IMG_5346

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And yes, I listened to the film soundtrack while I ran – if you’re going to be a geek, best to go all in! Turns out, it’s pretty good to run to…

To round off my day, I’ll be going to the cinema with my sister to see a triple bill of Back to the Future films. This is pretty exciting for me as I’ve had so few opportunities to see them on the big screen. I was a little too young when the first film was released and saw it a year or so later when I was given a VHS copy (which I proceeded to wear out!). I remember being disappointed that the “to be continued” at the end of the film was intended as joke and there were no sequels, so when the further films were released I was absolutely beside myself and can remember going to the cinema to see them with my family. Apart from that, all my viewings have been at home (I have a VHS boxset and two – yes, two! – DVD boxsets. The films are on TV quite a lot too!) except for one opportunity to see the original film at the cinema around 5 years ago when it was the 25th anniversary.

IMG_0103

Even when I travel, I tend to have the first film loaded on my iPad so I always have something to watch, despite the fact that I probably have the script memorised! And would you believe, I even have a T-shirt (a gift from my sister) which combines my love of BTTF with my love of running? Of course I do!

IMG_5031

So there you go, my geek cards are on the table. While some may be excited about the forthcoming Star Wars film, it’s all about Back to the Future for me – a certain online retailer has even “forced” me to buy another DVD boxset since there’s a new 30th anniversary edition! The only downside to today was that I had to lace up my own trainers and had no hoverboard to play with after my run…yet! At least I know I’m not the only one getting a bit carried away today:

What’s your all-time favourite film?
Are you marking Back to the Future Day in any way?
Ever take part in any virtual races?

IMG_4942

At Universal, Florida in 2013. I couldn’t resist!

4 thoughts on “Roads? Where we’re going we don’t need roads!

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds – 23rd October | The Running Princess

  2. Pingback: An Overwhelming October | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

