A Jolly June

After an eventful May, June brought with it a much-needed chance to rest and recover. I enjoyed a few days of light training (no running) to begin the month and recover from Edinburgh, then kept training ticking over with some shorter runs (10k max) alongside some strength and conditioning work. But the real feature of June was the chance to enjoy myself a bit after so many months of focused training to start the year. So let’s see what I got up to…

First up, I had a lovely meal out to mark the retiral of one of my colleagues. We had spent weeks planning the “entertainment” and part of this entailed us wearing sunhats and sunglasses when our colleague arrived – she’s a real sunshine girl and will no doubt be spending lots of time topping up her tan somewhere exotic in future. We looked ridiculous but it was all good fun!

IMG_4557

Next up, in the middle of June, Steve and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary. I can’t believe it’s been 5 years already as we seem to have crammed a lot into our time. I think my choice of card summed it up:

Seems about right!

Seems about right!

We enjoyed a fairly indulgent weekend which started with a trip to the cinema for a live screening of the Take That concert (yes, the one we went to in May!) live from the O2 in London. It was an unusual experience to be singing along and jumping about in a cinema, but great fun nonetheless. Since it was our anniversary, we got a ticket package which included a prosecco and canapé reception beforehand, in order to set the celebratory tone, before rounding off our evening with a cocktail on the way home. Lovely!

IMG_4585

IMG_4594 IMG_4599 IMG_4601

The following evening, we headed out for a more traditional anniversary meal at our friend Graeme’s restaurant which is our favourite place to eat. The evening featured more prosecco, some wine and an indulgent steak dinner which was absolutely delicious:

IMG_4604 IMG_4608

And our month of treating ourselves was rounded off last weekend with a family gathering to celebrate Steve’s mum’s birthday. We took her to the same hotel where Steve and I had our wedding reception and enjoyed high tea. For those of you unfamiliar with the term, “high tea” is a little different from what you might think of as a traditional “afternoon tea” as it’s served a little later and is a bigger meal. High tea is basically a cooked meal (the sort of thing we might think of as “pub grub” i.e. gammon steak, fish and chips, scampi, etc) served with tea and toast then followed by the things you would associate with afternoon tea such as cream scones and meringues. It’s a treat we rarely have but is always delicious. Since it was a milestone birthday, we also had birthday cake (although we saved our slices until the following day!).

IMG_4630 IMG_4629

All in all, June was about treating ourselves with good food, good company and good times. Oh, and I hit a blogging milestone too:

IMG_4620

We trained hard through January to May, and having a bit of downtime was important in order to keep us injury-free and enjoying our running. I can’t believe that’s us halfway through the year now, and we certainly made the most of the past month in celebration of that. Let’s hope the second half of the year is as much fun as the first!

How was your June?
Any exciting plans for the second half of the year?

6 thoughts on “A Jolly June

  1. Your June sounded amazing and all that yummie food! I am really hungry now! My June was great and I hope my July is better with my Half training kicking in! Good luck with all your July goals!

    Like

  2. The last 3 months I’ve been training hard on my core fitness, rather than running, with 3x meta-run sessions per week. However, the lack of a ‘goal’ finally caught up with me. I’m not really goal-driven. However, I was working in Elgin a few weeks ago and on my way back I popped into Aviemore and noticed lots of trail runners about, obviously finishing a race. I later googled it and found out it was the Lairig ghru Trail race from Braemar to Aviemore, through the heart of the Cairngorms. I’ve walked this route over 2days before and it’s stunning….now I’m very interested in running it and have contacted the Deeside Runners who organise it to find out about entry for 2016, as lots of hill races you have qualification requirements. So potentially that could be my big challenge for next year. I also want to do the Rob Roy challenge which is a 16mile run > 39mile bike ride.

    Liked by 1 person

      • The organiser of this year’s cairngorm marathon got back to me and thinks I’d probably manage it within 5hr at my current fitness and you have to be confident of doing it in 6hr. But he’s not organising next year’s race so need to speak to Deeside Hill runners, just so I know when entry opens as there’s a max of 200 runners. But I’m quite excited about the prospect of a long trail run and doing longer trail training runs. I’m going to get a bike later in the year. I’m in that mood where I just want to enter races….but it will be months away till entry opens for these events!. In the meantime I need to buy calf guards….its too hot at moment for full compression tights, and I need to protect my calfs with compression. In meantime I can enjoy some shopping!

        Like

Leave a Reply

