Friday Finds – 12th June

Friday Finds is a regular feature in which I collate and share interesting articles and posts on running/fitness which I’ve read recently. Some might be inspiring, some might be scientific, some might provoke debate. All are things I’ve found in some way thought-provoking.

With some big stories in professional sport right now, it’s difficult to find anything else to read about. In the world of running, all anyone has been talking about for the past week is the doping allegations against Alberto Salazar and Oregon Project runner Galen Rupp, which were revealed in a recent BBC Panorama programme. Cycling enthusiasts are getting caught up in debating Bradley Wiggins’ much-hyped one-hour record. Meanwhile the FIFA bribery scandal rumbles on, Oscar Pistorius is set to be released on parole and Lance Armstrong is in the news again. What a week!

So with all that filling up our newsfeeds on a daily basis, I want to focus on some alternative stories this week. To start, the exciting news that Jo Pavey will take part in this year’s Great Scottish Run. I ran this race back in 2012 and remember finishing with a smile on my face having thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s a fantastic race and one I’m keen to run again some day, so it’s great to hear that Jo Pavey will be returning to Glasgow to take it on as part of her preparations for Rio 2016. She may even inspire me to sign up!

A more scientific story I came across recently was the news that exercise has a direct impact on cancer tumours. We all know that exercise helps maintain good health, and cancer patients are often advised to get more exercise. Now a US study has found evidence that exercise may actually help reduce the growth and spread of tumours, as well as helping with cancer therapies. With a steady increase in the number of people being diagnosed with cancer, this has to be an exciting discovery.

For those in my line of work who struggle to fit exercise into a busy schedule, The Guardian has some tips to help you out. The suggestions might not suit everybody (I, for one, struggle to get up earlier and my commute is too long to run or cycle) but simply planning when to exercise and putting that plan into my diary is how I fit exercise into my life, so perhaps some of these tips might help others.

If, like me, you’ve had a bit of time out from training recently then you’re probably consoling yourself with the notion that it’s easier to get back to fitness than it was the first time around. I’ve often found myself telling people that it’s bound to be easier as there’s muscle memory and the simple knowledge that you’ve done it before, the very points made in this post on the Runner’s World website. Good to know there’s a scientific basis behind my confident assertions!

On a lighter note, I enjoyed this rundown of the world’s largest marathons. I remember commenting back in April that the Paris marathon was only eclipsed in numbers by New York and Chicago, and indeed that is borne out by this article. Oddly enough, despite being the 15 largest, I hadn’t actually heard of all of them. Perhaps it’s time to go and rethink my marathon bucket list!

And finally, if the closest you’re coming to a marathon this weekend is a Netflix marathon, why not check out this list from Canadian Running with some viewing suggestions for runners. You might even have some suggestions of your own to add…

Happy reading,
The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

