I Mustache You Some Questions

A little bit of Saturday fun today as I link up with Danielle at Eat Primal, Run Hard who invited me to join in and share a little bit about myself.

mustache-1024x1024

Danielle is also an English teacher, and has quite rightly pointed out that technically there aren’t actually any questions here, but setting my red pen aside for the afternoon, here are my responses…

Four names other people call me other than my real name

Believe it or not, this is a bit of a tricky one as I don’t have any nicknames (that I know of…!)

  1. Steve often calls me love, as in, “Hi love, how was your day?”
  2. At work, I spend the majority of the day responding to my “teacher name”, Ms McArthur (or sometimes Ms…Erm…!), often even when talking to adults!
  3. I’m occasionally referred to by my blog name: The Running Princess at your service!
  4. I didn’t change my surname when I got married, but I’m sometimes still called Mrs Bonthrone. 

Four jobs I’ve had

  1. I was a theatre usher during my senior years at school and when I was at university. I loved it, but panto season was hard work!
  2. Right after graduating I worked in a bookshop until I sorted out what I was going to do next. Perfect job for a bookworm.
  3. Whilst taking my post-graduate teaching qualification, I worked in my local branch of TK Maxx. It was brilliant for spotting bargains, but sadly I couldn’t always afford to buy the things I spotted 😦
  4. My job, and indeed career, now: English teacher. I’m always super busy, but no two days are the same!

Four movies I’ve watched more than once

  1. Back to the Future. My absolute favourite movie EVER. I actually have multiple copies of this and practically have the script memorised but I never tire of it.
  2. Superman. This one goes back to my childhood and I still watch it every time I spot it on tv even though it makes me sad that Christopher Reeve is no longer with us.
  3. Moulin Rouge. What’s not to like? Paris, music and a tear-jerking love story. Ticks all the boxes for me and I think of it every time I’m in Paris.
  4. Elf. First Christmas movie I watch every December which means it’s nearly time to crack it open once more!

Four books I recommend

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I will NEVER tire of this book. There’s just something about Mr Darcy (and I had a thing for him BEFORE he was Colin Firth in that scene!) I have multiple copies of this book, including one in French (Orgueil et Préjugés)!
  2. The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger. An American classic and a book I often study with my senior pupils. I wish I’d had the chance to study it at school as I didn’t fully “get” it when I first read it as a teenager, but now I notice something new every time. I’ll confess to more than one copy of this as well (but not as many as Pride and Prejudice!
  3. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. A rather intriguing concept and a book I read earlier this year. The sort of book that stays with you for a while once you finish and makes it hard to move on and start something new.
  4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This is the one that’s been causing a stir among my pupils over the last few months. I read it before the summer and confess to shedding a wee tear. I do try to keep up with some of the books that my pupils are reading, and this one stands out not just because I enjoyed it, but because I had so many pupils desperate to talk about it and find out how much I’d read each day.

IMG_0046

Four places I’ve lived

  1. My childhood home in Perth. My parents still live there.
  2. Student halls in Glasgow when I was at university.
  3. My marital home with Steve in Perth.
  4. There actually isn’t another one, so I’ll include my parents’ home in Florida where I live for two weeks every July (I have a bedroom and assorted “stuff” there so I’m counting it!).

Four places I’ve been

  1. Paris. Of course I was going to mention that first! My favourite city in the whole world. If I ever won the lottery, I’d buy an apartment in Paris and visit all the time.
  2. Florida. I first went there on a family holiday in 1992. It was billed as a “once-in-a-lifetime, never-to-be-repeated” trip. We haven’t stopped going since.
  3. Tunisia. The first holiday Steve and I went on together. A whole week lying on a beach, reading books and eating fresh figs. Just what I needed at the time.
  4. New York City. I was lucky enough to get the chance to accompany a school trip a few years ago. It was a bit of a whirlwind of sightseeing and cramming in as much as we could, so I’d love to return one day and see The Big Apple at my own pace.

IMG_3697

 

IMG_3212

 

IMG_1700

DSCN0996

Four places I’d rather be right now

  1. Paris. Everything is always better in Paris.
  2. Disney World. It is the happiest place on Earth after all and I’d love to see it in all its festive glory!
  3. Lying in the sunshine on my parents’ pool deck in Florida with a good book and an ice cold drink.
  4. Running or cycling around the beautiful Perthshire countryside. Plenty of scenery, plenty of hills and plenty of feel-good endorphins afterwards.

IMG_3186

IMG_3436

Four of my favourite foods

  1. French Onion Soup. I love soup in general, but this is my favourite one to make. Warm, tasty and a little bit of Paris chez moi!
  2. Fish. I never used to like fish, but these days I really enjoy it. Salmon or rainbow trout are favourites at home, and when I’m in Florida I love the meals my mum makes with local Tilapia.
  3. Watermelon. Greatest thing to have after a sweaty run on a hot summer day. I have this with my breakfast every morning in Florida and try to continue once I’m home in Scotland, but I can never quite get over the price of it here.
  4. Broccoli. Seriously. I used to always moan when Steve filled my plate with broccoli, but now I can’t get enough of this superfood – I even ordered it as a side dish with a meal when we were in London recently! My favourite is a nice portion of tenderstem broccoli.

IMG_3793

 

IMG_0789

IMG_3749

Four things I don’t eat

  1. Tuna. It comes in a can and as a treat I feed it to my cats, therefore it is cat food!
  2. Cheese. I’ve never liked the smell or taste of cheese. I’ll eat mozzarella and haloumi, but other than that you can forget it!
  3. Prawns/Shrimp. My mum despairs of me as she loves them, but I’ve just never taken to them.
  4. Leek and potato soup. Despite saying I love soup, I just can’t bear leek and potato. It is the work of the devil!

Four tv shows I watch

  1. Strictly Come Dancing. My absolute favourite. I love the music, the dancing and the dresses. I may not be able to dance a step myself (jury’s out on just how many left feet I have!) but I’m an excellent armchair judge and can’t get enough of that Strictly sparkle.
  2. Downton Abbey. I’m not quite sure what draws me to Downton, but I love following the upstairs/downstairs dramas and coveting the beautiful fashions of the upper classes from a century ago. I believe there’s actually a 10k race that takes place in the grounds of the stately home where this is filmed so that’s definitely on my bucket list!
  3. Casualty. Nothing beats a rousing game of working out who’s “in it” this week!
  4. The Apprentice. I’m not sure why, as for the most part the candidates just annoy me. I think I just like watching Lord Sugar tear them to shreds after their latest disaster of a task.

Four things I’m looking forward to this year

Taking this to mean 2015 (after all, there’s not much of 2014 left):

  1. The Paris marathon in April. Best way to see my favourite city 🙂
  2. Seeing Take That in Glasgow in May. I’m beside myself with excitement!
  3. Returning to Florida in the summer. We’ll definitely be running while we’re there again, and might even try out a different race if the dates work out.
  4. Seeing how my running and cycling develop. I’d love to notch up another marathon PB and I want to take part in some more cycling events.

984036_863089720383678_1637368459_n

Four things I always say

  1. “Anything is possible” (yes, I am irritatingly positive).
  2. “Cool” (I should probably stop that. I suspect it isn’t “cool” anymore!)
  3. I have a sneaking suspicion I might say “ok” too much, especially in the classroom.
  4. “Are we there yet?” Irritating, I know. And I’ve only ever reached “there” once…!

IMG_0819 IMG_0830

What would your responses be? I’m going to tag Steve, Jaynie, Julia and anyone else who’d like to join in.

Vote_for_us_244_183_c1

4 thoughts on “I Mustache You Some Questions

    • It is a tricky one. Like I said, I struggled with it the first time but had a totally different experience reading it with a view to teaching it.
      I actually need to read one of your choices again – To Kill a Mockingbird.

      Like

Leave a Reply

