To My Love…

20140214-135751.jpg

We first met back in the summer of 2005. I was naïve and inexperienced, nervous about our first date. I’m quite sure I looked a state in cheap trainers and some cobbled together gym kit, but you didn’t seem to mind. You took me by the hand and led me gently through those first awkward moments. As time went on, you encouraged me to be more adventurous and to try new things. Somehow, I always trusted you.

Almost nine years down the line our bond is stronger than ever (and thankfully my outfits have improved!). We spend a huge amount of time together and I know you’ll always be there for me through thick and thin: when I’m happy, you’re there; when I’m upset, you’re there and when I’m angry, you’re definitely there. You are the one I turn to in times of stress, and you’re the one I want to spend time with when the sun is shining brightly in the sky. We’ve had our ups and downs, shared good times and bad, but whatever happens, I know I’m a better person for having you in my life.

Some of our dates have been interesting to say the least, but we’ve always come through them together: howling winds, torrential rain and heavy snow have all featured at some point. They could have been miserable moments, but sometimes it was just better to laugh and carry on.

We’ve shared countless energising snacks and numerous hearty meals. We’ve met for drinks (sometimes simple water, sometimes a heady cocktail of electrolytes) served in a variety of ways – a good old sports bottle is my favourite – yet never really tire of each other’s company. We always enjoy listening to music together and some of “our” songs have become very special to me, reminding me of good times we’ve shared. We’ve even travelled together and enjoyed time on foreign shores – what girl could fail to be wooed by springtime in Paris? You gave me that and it was one of the greatest experiences of my life.

Sometimes we have been forced to be apart for a short time. Those breaks have always brought home to me just how important you are in my life, and just how much I miss you when you’re not there. You keep me sane and I depend on you for that. I hope that never changes.

Running, perhaps I never really tell you enough, but I do love you. Thank you for being in my life and making it better.
Happy Valentine’s Day ❤

20140214-135817.jpg

When and how did you meet running?

Has running changed your life?

What does running mean to you?

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

5 thoughts on “To My Love…

  1. I first met running when I first moved to Scotland in 2009, but a few months later, we broke up. We got back together in August 2010, to help me shape up for my wedding, and have been together ever since. Running has allowed me to learn so much about myself and become a stronger person. I’ve always done team sports and had teammates to rely on, and have found the transition to an individual sport a bit of a challenge. This past year, though, I’ve been able to become a lot mentally tougher and more confident. I used to want to be a runner, but was too lazy and had every excuse in the book. Now, I’m so happy to say that I’m a runner, and even more so since I’ve started running longer distances. Running means everything to me 🙂

    Like

    • That’s great Danielle. I’m glad you and running got back together after your break up. I’ll admit that running and I were somewhat casual acquaintances for the first couple of years, but I couldn’t be without it now. Apart from all the physical and mental benefits, running has allowed me to meet and connect with so many different people who otherwise would probably not have come into my life.

      Like

    • You and tennis CAN have that type of relationship. Perhaps you need to change your mindset and look for all the positives you have in tennis. What brought you together in the first place and what keeps you together now? You might surprise yourself!

      Like

  2. Pingback: To My Valentine… | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

