Dear Running Shoes,

I don’t think you have ever fully understood just how much you have meant to me over the last few months. Ok, so I confess you weren’t my first, but the others just didn’t “get” me the way you do and more often than not I ended up getting hurt. I thought I would never find “The One”…and then you came into my life.

Do you remember when we first met? I do: 3rd of March 2013 in Glasgow. It was kind of a blind date as it was someone else who had suggested we might hit it off. I’d been going through a difficult time and was open to trying something new – you have to take a chance in life sometimes, right? I’m so glad I took that chance as since then, everything has been great. It just seemed that we were the perfect fit and could do anything together. We’ve had further dates in Glasgow as well as Edinburgh, Stirling, Inverness, Aviemore and here in Perth. We’ve attempted to break a world record and gotten carried away with some fancy dress shenanigans. You’ve helped make life an adventure again, but you’ve also helped me relax as we spent some quality time together in the country.

Yes, we’ve come a long way together – 363 miles to be precise – and now, just as I’m gearing up for a really big year, you hit me with the bombshell that you just can’t keep up the pace anymore. I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t noticed a change in you recently (you seem a little dull these days and just don’t bounce back the same as you used to) and in my heart of hearts I’ve known this day was getting closer. The day when we would have to part.

You’re too old now, you said; you need an easier life now, you said. And I guess you’re right. It just wouldn’t be fair to force you to stay with me when your heart’s not in it anymore and we’d just end up hating each other or causing hurt. The kindest thing would be to let you go, but I’ll miss you greatly.

The friend you introduced me to seems nice, kind of like a younger version of you with the brightness and energy I remember from the early days. We’ve had a couple of friendly dates and I think we can get on well. Although it seems like I’m moving on and replacing you, be assured that you can never truly be replaced and will always have a special place in my heart. I only wish that our journey could have carried on: I’d have loved to take you to Paris, but it just wasn’t to be!

And so, with a heavy heart, I must bid you farewell my dear Pure Flows. I’ll never forget our time together, but I know you would want me to keep going and be happy. For you, I’ll try – after all, there are sure to be a lot of adventures ahead!

Love,

Your Running Princess xx

IMG_2596

IMG_1676

5 thoughts on “Dear Running Shoes,

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | The Running Princess

  2. Pingback: To My Valentine… | The Running Princess

  3. Pingback: Global Running Day | The Running Princess

Leave a Reply

